We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean with good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai on Wok

Thai on Wok
Ranked #3,054 of 5,832 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: US$0 - US$13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Glebe
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Clean with good service”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Average food , with good portions and good service.
We had green curry (one chicken and one tofu), they where of average quality, however the service was excellent and the coffee was pleasant. We will not rush back but I have been spoilt for Thai food by Pawns (see separate review).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

A wonderful find!
Great value lunch specials, fast service, generous servings and exceptional food! My husband had the Garlic & Pepper pork, and I ordered the Mild Thai Spice Chicken. The chicken was delicious, but far from 'mild'. I'm very sensitive to heat, so my husband who loves spice, swapped dishes with me and we both left very full and happy. The water dispenser and glasses are a great idea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NelleWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best in Sydney!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Thai on Wok is ALWAYS fresh, never too oily, and whilst simple and cheap, the food is full of flavour and the portion size to dollar ratio is excellent.

I've been eating Thai at this place for 10 years and it's always been consistent in terms of flavour and quality.

If you're after doting service and a romantic atmosphere, this isn't the place to go. This place is all about the food. Get in before 6pm and after 8:30-9:00pm to ensure you get a seat.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kurtlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
390 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Not Fancy - Excellent Food, Good Service”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is a bare bones restaurant - just a few tables, very basic, nothing fancy. But the food is excellent, freshly prepared, and served quickly. Lunch specials $8.50 before 4pm 7 days a week. Order at the register and the food is brought to your table. Chicken & cashew nut main meal had plenty of large pieces of chicken in a tasty sauce. Tom Yum Soup was spicy, flavorful, and also had large pieces of chicken. This is not a place you would go for atmosphere and ambience, but for those who like Thai food, it's a good choice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lively place for quick, tasty and abundant Thai food.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I visited Thai on Wok while on vacation in Australia. It was always crowded which I thought was a good sign. It was summer and the doors were open so you get "al fresco" dining (a treat for this Chicagoan). The place was extraordinarily efficient. They gave a lot of food for the price (I had leftovers) and it was very good. Not the best Thai I had in Sydney, but very good. I will say that it looks more appealing in person than in some of the photos I've seen online. And it's in a great location right there on Glebe Point Road.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chisalsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai on Wok also viewed

 
North Strathfield, Sydney
 

Been to Thai on Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing