We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than three...”
Review of Annam Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Annam Apartments
Ranked #106 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Better than three...”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It had been a while since I'd stayed at the Annam Apartments in Potts Point, but was more than happy to stay there again, this time under the new management, which now allows shorter stays.
When you compare the size of the rooms at Annam to other hotels in the local area, you know you're getting excellent value for money.
Mine (on the fourth floor from memory) was cavernous and well appointed, if not beginning to show its age slightly.
The bed was large and comfortable, and there was a little sitting room (with ample storage) overlooking Kings Cross Road.
Naturally, given its position (just near the William Street Tunnel and the Bondi Junction train line), things do tend to get a little noisy traffic-wise, but as I always suggest, you're very seldom going to find anywhere to stay in the middle of a city without experiencing some level of noise.
I wish TripAdvisor would allow me to score in half points, 'cause for the size of the rooms alone, Annam Apartments deserves better than three.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    50
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
11
63
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights earlier this month and it was pretty much everything we needed from an apartment. The bed was large and comfortable, the kitchen was also a great size and the bathroom was clean. Also, the washing machine was brilliant for us after 3 days of camping in the outback! Our apartment was on the 4th floor and we only heard noise on Saturday night despite staying for almost a week. The location was fantastic - Kings Cross station was just a couple of minutes walk and so were supermarkets and restaurants.

The apartment was not cleaned during our stay but towels and sheets were replaced on a daily basis. For the price we paid, this was no problem at all but it would have been good if we had access to a hoover or mop to clean ourselves. Our only other criticism was that the kitchen could have been better equipped - it would have been really useful to have an extra saucepan, can opener, grater etc.

Overall the staff were friendly and the apartment was brilliant value for money. We will stay again when we return to Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in a studio apartment for six nights. The room was very large and the full size fridge, stove top, and breakfast nook were very nice. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Although our stay included a Friday and Saturday night, we were not bothered much with noise as others have commented. Perhaps that's because we were on the 4th floor, or we were just so tired after full days of exploring Sydney that we could have slept through an earthquake. We liked the location and thought the apartment was a bargain given its size, location, and ease of transportation. Two bus stops are just outside. The Kings Cross train station is less than two blocks, and there are dozens of places to eat within a 5 to 10 minute walk. We have no complaints about our stay and we are very happy with the value Annam provides for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunoGHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Many thanks to Annam Serviced Apartments for the fantastic accommodation! We were upgraded to a larger apartment and everything was just perfect! Free wifi, nice big kitchen, clean flat, actually seemed brand new. Excellent location too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pirrre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If it weren't for the noise, this apartment would be absolutely amazing. Fantastic facilities, modern interior and very good location. However, the noise was absolutely shocking. I stayed for three nights - I had to wear ear plugs, I tried to take sleeping tablets, but I still bearly got any sleep at all because of the constant traffic noise (cars starting, then stopping). The management really need to install double glazed windows to make it possible for people to sleep here.

Room Tip: I doubt that there would be any good rooms - they'd all get the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The price was reasonable, housekeeping excellent, staff helpful and friendly, bed very comfortable and good bedding, kitchen suitable for making simple meals, good fridge freezer, good aircon,spacious room with plenty of storage in the kitchen and for clothes. etc washer/dryer in the bathroom very useful..we used it loads, bed linen and towels changed regularly...very close to shops and supermarket.Plenty of places to eat. Rushcutters bay park within easy walking distance; we spent some afternoons there watching the boats bobbing on the water in the bay and sunbathing. Buses into the city very regular although we walked most of the time.Also trains from Kings cross station a short walk away.Buses terminate at Circular Quay where we regularly used the ferry to Manly to meet friends. Buses also go to Double Bay and Watsons bay to sunbathe on the beach. We also went to Bondi junction by train and changed trains to Bondi beach. Public transport really reliable.
Kings Cross/ Potts Point is a busy area with a vibrant night life which my husband and I didn't experience as after a days sight seeing etc we were too tired but any noise from revellers didn't bother us as much as the traffic noise which amazingly we got used to after a few days.
We both give this accommodation a big tick.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_hamilton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The room was clean and well furnished with everything you would need for and extended stay. Washer, microwave, fridge etc in the mini kitchen. Next to bustling Kings Cross with a bus service just around the corner. The area is more suited to the younger persons with night clubs open until 7am. This did not however effect my stay. Owner and staff were always helpful and I have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hope1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#101 of 179 in Sydney
36 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#149 of 179 in Sydney
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#67 of 179 in Sydney
271 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 179 in Sydney
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annam Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annam Apartments

Property: Annam Apartments
Address: 21 Ward Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Annam Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Annam Suites buildings are a fresh alternative to traditional serviced apartments, reflecting a contemporary lifestyle at unbeatable value. Annam Suites properties are designed to provide both a dynamic living space and a unique experience whether you are a business or holliday traveler. Annam Suites offers you serviced apartments and the best rate for extended stays, corporate relocations, conferences, trade shows in sydney, family holidays. Business travelers and arm forces are welcome. Whether you are relocating to a new country, on an international assignment, traveling for business or simply taking a vacation with family and friends, it is your fond memories of a successful stay that we aim to deliver. Secrets of success encompass the balanced combination of physical space to work and live, personalised services and the living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Annam Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annam Apartments Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing