We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this restaurant but...”
Review of Zaaffran

Zaaffran
Reserve with
Zaaffran is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant but...”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I have been coming here for years, and we rate it as one of our favourites.

In all of this time, the food hasn't suffered at all, it is still totally delicious (especially the beef spare ribs, do yourself a favour and have these!).

It pains me to say this though that I feel the service is starting to slip. We were there on Saturday and felt that one of the waiters in particular (unfortunately, ours) seemed to spend a lot of time just standing around near the water jugs doing nothing much at all. He barely came near us during the meal, where we would have liked to order more drinks. Then we asked for the dessert menu and he didn't bring it. He came again about 15 minutes later and asked us if there was anything we wanted, and we told him again "the dessert menu". He didn't bring it again! Finally, we were asked by another waiter if we wanted anything and he was going to bring it for us, but we decided to just leave instead.

Zaaffran managers, I love your restaurant. I truly do. Please don't let the service bring down the quality of the experience, your food is wonderful, that never changes. Fix your waiters please!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    166
    84
    32
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Location Location and good food!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Solo diner as my wife was away. Sampled two entrees the fish and tandoor chicken. Both were nicely presented, tasted of what they should have done and arrived in a timely fashion. The bottle of Sem/Sauv helped the experience but staff were both friendly and cheerful which is not always the case in prime tourist areas. I will be back with the grandkids for Saturday night fireworks!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozziemovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly owner but poor dishes”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Beef ribs were burnt and the curries were very watery and plain :( I actually feel quite bad to give negative review for Zaafran because the owner was so kind and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely views, a generous meal and excellent service”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We visited Zaaffran on a Friday evening, taking advantage of a Groupon voucher ($59 for seemingly endless courses and a bottle of wine).The on-line booking was easy and painless despite our request for a premium time slot. We asked for an all-vegetarian meal (an option which was not originally presented within the deal) and they were happy to accommodate our dietary requirements.The meal far exceeded our expectations by both quality (very good) and quantity (more than we could possibly eat). A nice bottle of wine, lovely views and an attentive and friendly service all contributed to a very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor service....and food”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Went with 3 colleagues for lunch around convention center. Went in bit early to grab some early sit. On arrival as we did not have reservation they said its fully booked, while we could see only two tables occupied. We then requested that we will have a quick lunch and can share a small table. So they gave us a small corner spot.
The food then came in parts.
We finished our lunch in 40 mins and while we were leaving the inside of the restaurant was still empty!!!
There much better tasting Indian food around Sydney then this highly priced / hyped restaurant.
I will not be recommending them....

Helpful?
Thank Oz_bong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaaffran also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Zaaffran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing