We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hostel in the George Street Area."”
Review of 790 on George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
790 on George
Ranked #49 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hostel in the George Street Area."”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I stayed here after laeving the much better YHA that is next door. I was working in sydney at the time so thought i would save a few quid and live in this pighole for a few weeks before i moved into my flat. The kitchen is a disgrace and the bathrooms had become even worse since my last trip to sydney in 2007. It is full of first time travellers who always ring daddy up for a quick borrow of money. I asked a german lad to be quiet one night at midnight as he had his ipod on whilst everyone else was trying to sleep. The prat had just arrived from the airport and was soon told to shut it. I returned from work the following day and was asked to leave. I didn't argue as i had my time in that place. Not all bad but plenty of better hostels in sydney rather than this. The wake up up the road. Best place i have stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Go to the YHA or the Wake Up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordIddon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    74
    58
    22
    15
See reviews for
7
41
75
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights coming back from Cairns. The room was dusty and unclean, the bathrooms worse. Even for a hostel, conditions were unacceptable. Towels could have been collecting old age pensions. Internet access is unreliable at best, and not cheap. While you'll meet a pleasant traveler or two, you'll also encounter a lot of folks who will be using the "sharps baskets." Head elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Newcastle, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This was a convenient and very cost effective place to stay. The room was small but served the purpose of a bed for the night. The place could use a good scrub but I was in Sydney to do other stuff, not enjoy my room. It was a bed for the night. As backpackers go this was quiet and very convenient. Close to Chinatown and Central station with the free city bus at the door. Great value for money in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I had wanted to stay here last year but it was full. The reviews still seemed good & their website sounded great so i was looking forward to this. I booked for two nights but was planning to stay a couple of weeks - that did not happen.

It looks like it was nice place but the standards have slipped, for example the pillow case was ripped - a small thing but it was part of a pattern.

The floors in the mens bathroom on level 5 & 7 were mopped but looked like they need a good scrub. One of the toilet seats was not attached - just sitting there. Part of the ceiling was hanging open.
All the tap fittings were broken - they still worked but were loose or completely broken.
The room ( 603 ) was small even for a 4 bed dorm. The lockers did not have the built in plugs that were mentioned & the shelf was broken & when it fell almost busted my laptop & camera in one hit.
Half the lights in the room did not work.

The lounge areas on the 7th, 2nd & basement are great but signs say they close at 11pm.

Each thing by itself is no big deal but when combined it meant I had no desire to stay any longer then the 2 nights I booked.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timthetraveller_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Bay, West.Aust.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Hey, we're a pair of oldies and it wasn't a case of "ooh, young people nowadays---". The reception staff were as good as could be, the room ( had a double plus single bunk overhead ) made the room seem tiny but hey, for way less than $100 a night ! Right there on a major road and spitting distance from wonderful Chinatown, a railway station nearby, loads of food choices nearby and a big plus for us was the quiet neighborhood, day and night.
The male bathroom smelt of stale urine because the slobby users couldn't be bothered to pull the flusher, no fault of the owners.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patandray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Situated right next to the Central Hostel, YHA. 790 George is a bare bones, decent not exactly clean, but barable lodging. There are 2 seperate hang out rooms both with internet computers for hire. The cleaning seems to be of moving stuff out of the way rather than ever throwing the trash out and the walls could use a wipe down. Lobby is very small and spills right out into the street which is a very busy thorofare. The bathrooms/shower stalls could use a good scrub, recomend flip flops at all times.

The noise was minimal from indoors and only around last call were the streets active and noisy. Within 30 minutes the noise quieted and restful sleep was had by one and all.

The staff was pleasant and willing to answer questions when they weren't burried in their computers. Clean sheets were provided. I was in a 4-share which was typical bunk bed arrangement and storage lockers in room provided.

Here is a tip, bring several different size master lock/key locks as the provided cabinets have a varied size allocation for your lock.

All the main tourist attractions, The Harbour, The Rocks, The Sydney Opera House, The Botanical Gardens etc are all within walking distance which is at the other end of the city however if you are looking for cheap asian food you are in heaven.

There is a free Bus in the city (the 555 line) that circles from the railway station just up the street all the way down to the harbour so you are never far from touristy sights and activities.

Next door is the Central Hostel YHA cafeteria so a cheap resonable meal is never far away.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATWwithScott2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I stayed in this hostel for about a week in April 2010. It is really close to everything about a 10 min walk into the city centre- and literally all on one street so u can't get lost! It's located around the corner from a train station so u can easily get out to kings cross etc for nites out.

rooms are really clean and bathrooms are spotless for a hostel! kitchen is fairly clean as well and is in the basement with loads of room to sit down and eat with tables and chairs, and tv's with good few couches around. laundry room as well and staff were really helpful.

there is an internet cafe beside it and loads of shops and hyde park nearby. would def recommend staying here because its so central and really affordable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 140 in Sydney
407 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 140 in Sydney
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 140 in Sydney
695 reviews
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 140 in Sydney
338 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#20 of 140 in Sydney
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 790 on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 790 on George

Property: 790 on George
Address: Station House 790 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 790 on George 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 790 on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
790 On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing