We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff but not very clean”
Review of 790 on George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
790 on George
Ranked #41 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“great staff but not very clean”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed a couple of night in a double room. The rooms are fine with great view. The staff was really nice and the kitchen is clean and big enough. The only bad stuff was the female bathrooms which were nasty. Good place to stay for a couple of days not more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croissantcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    74
    56
    22
    14
See reviews for
7
40
73
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I stayed a night at the maze backpackers it was horrible. so I left and came across 790 on george. and It was really great, I'll stay here again next time. huge kitchen on basement level with couches and a tv. on level 2 there was a internet room with couches and a tv. and also the same on level ten. very nice bathrooms. large rooms with a huge locker. nice beds and nice sheets.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I stayed here coming from the YHA, obviously is not as modern as the YHA's in Sydney but ALOT cheaper, beds were comfy, every bed has own cupboard with a plug in it quite big cupboard to could put bag in it. Great idea to have a plug in your own cupboard, after being in a lot of hostel, some 10 bed dorms with 1 plug!!!!!! i think its quite handy having your own, i stayed in this hostel about 5 seperate times, different rooms and everyroom had these cupboards with plugs. - very handy when u have camera, ipod, phone etc. lift up and down. the 6 bed female is split into 2 and 4 so it doesnt feel like a 6 bed and it was $22 online, very cheap compared to yha $41!!!!!!!!!!!! Kitchen is o.k, lady worker cleans all dishes on draining away every morning afternoon and night. great tv room / dining room. The only downside to this hostel is the computer / internet very slow and code doesnt work properly. But global gossip right next door cant complain!!!!!!!!
Overall i think this is the best hostel value for money in the whole of sydney!! loved it!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicew08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

great staff and location but the building itself needs knocking down and rebuilding. It is dirty and there are cockroaches in the kitchen and rats outside!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Stayed here in fenruary 2009, after 2 nights its Sydneys worst hostel, Homebackpackers on Elizabeth street.
This is a great hostel, very clean, helpful, toilets and showers were spotless.
Would definitely stay here again when I go back to Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bukilester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I stayed here on two nights, both during the busy easter season.

The first night I had been continuously (and very insensitively might I add) turned down by other backpacking hostels such as Maze and Yha. Upon entrance to 790 on George I was immediately welcomed by the registrar who was not only happy to find me a dorm, but was also a wonderful conversationalist and openly engaged in a brilliant discussion about some absolutely random affairs!

It doesn't just end there though, the next night, I had just missed my flight and after explaining this to the same registrar, he was not only, again, too happy to find me a room, he showed an understanding and sensitivity that wayyy surpassed any I've experienced in the customer service sector recently.

I whole- heartedly recommend this place for anyone staying in the Sydney CBD. I should also add as well, that the beds, kitchen and bathroom facilities (and rates per night) isn''t so bad either!

  • Liked — The front desk reception
  • Disliked — absolutely nothin'
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helli_belli03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2008

the staff were all nice and helpful. it was fun talking with them and they give honest opinions. the location is good and safe. there are nearby convenience stores. there's a nice kebab shop next to the hostel. why pay for other hostels that charge you more when you get to have the same quality sevice. the hostel is pretty new so the rooms and facilities are clean. overall, the experience was safe. i have seen the other hostels that looked nice on the net but are actually horrible, old and dirty. i stayed at 790 on george last april to may 2008. it is 2-minutes from st.paddy's.you can even walk your way to darling harbour (a must see), the station is also near the hostel. and 790 is cheaper than YHA and my friend who stayed at YHA said 790 was more worth it. I am going back to Sydney for a week of vacation. and i am staying there again.

  • Liked — price,location and staff
  • Disliked — none-790 is one of the best hostels i've stayed in..
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petitemonde2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Railway Square YHA
#12 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 790 on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 790 on George

Property: 790 on George
Address: Station House 790 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 790 on George 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your 790 on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
790 On George Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing