We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Ranked #93 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very tired and neglected. Dusty, smelly, no air con and a fan that barely turned. So hot! The carpet is dirty and stained with dust built up along the edges. The bed sheets were clean however the bed itself was saggy and uncomfortable. Behind the bed was what appeared to be years of built up dust. There was a common sitting area with a communal fridge no bigger than a half a bar fridge and it leaked. The bathroom was mouldy and again tired. This hotel cost us $135 for the night.....so disappointed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We first came here 12 years ago and they served great pizza, with good beer in a really good pub. We've been a couple of times since including last week and nothing has changed.

Give them a ring in advance and they will save you a table outside. Also, they do gluten free pizzas, needed for my daughter, but it's worth ringing ahead as the waitress told me they do sometimes run out of bases.

Belly pork pizza - superb!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I recently visited the restaurant/cafe attached to this hotel as part of a group having a Christmas re-union. Generally, I am not an admirer of the Sydney pub restaurant scene with its pretentious and overpriced meals but this is an exception.

The bill of fare is based around gourmet pizzas but with other main meals offered. While most of our group chose pizzas, I opted for the barramundi which was fresh, tasty and the best barra that I have had outside Darwin. Priced at about $23, this was outstanding food for the cost.

It was a fine December day so we enjoyed the Sydney sunshine on the outside tables. Our meal was washed down by good wine at bar prices.

Although we had to order inside rather than have a waiter take our orders at the table, this was a very minor inconvenience and did bot detract from the experience.

Well done, the Australian Heritage Hotel, for avoiding the too too trendy and over priced meals that are so often found in Sydney hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCC169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just climbed the Sydney Harbour Bridge meet some new friends on the tour decided to get some lunch so we stopped by this great place for a few drinks and a meal :-) great food and lovely staff.. will definitely come back when I return to Sydney!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Just there for the night, nice and clean, quiet, bathroom down the hall and shared. We liked the cosy feel of the old building. Also liked the easy access to The Rocks and also Darling Harbour, however this was a 25-30 minute walk away
Would stay again :-) thanks also to the friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Anders3912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Australian is located in The Rocks, which is a 10 minute walk from CircularQuay, where you can get the ferries and trains. A short walk will also bring you to the Sydney bridge climb. We stayed two nights. The hotel rooms are clean, very basic & very old. They are small, just room for a bed, chair and wardrobe. There were only 1 toilet and a bathroom with a toilet and 2 showers available. The two others were closed down for renovations. Mattress was old and not very comfortable. Very noisy as the pub was down stairs and rooms above. Breakfast was basic, three cereal choices, yogurt, orange juice, toast, tea or instant coffee. They provide free WiFi. There is also a common room with a TV. The cost was $135 per night. A better bet may be the YHA next to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy, you are above a pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

In Sydney with a friend and on a tight budget ... very pleased with The Australian Heritage Hotel. Clean, simple, yet homey atmosphere. Very close to Circular Quay and Opera House as well as easy access by train from Wynyard Station (almost flat walk of 800m). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
934 reviews
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#108 of 179 in Sydney
239 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#67 of 179 in Sydney
308 reviews
Hotel Challis
#53 of 179 in Sydney
767 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#81 of 179 in Sydney
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Heritage Hotel

Address: 100 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £68 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Australian Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation features charming antique decorated bedrooms with room types to suit all guests. Rooms consist of Single, Double and Queen beds with shared bathroom facilities. There is also a Family Suite available with two double beds, private dining room and bathroom. All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and access to the common room with a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is also a short stroll to the Rocks shopping outlets, Circular Quay ferry terminal, train station, Museum of Contemporary Art, Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Australian Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing