We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmospheric - +history+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Ranked #93 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmospheric - +history+”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Such a peaceful area considering it's in the middle of the city. My mother, sister (who are out-of-state visitors) and I went on a mid-week afternoon after strolling through the rocks and then down to Susannah Place Museum. It has a prime location and a peaceful atmosphere with a varied menu and good quality produce. The staff were friendly and they have EFTPOS facilities which is always a bonus! Cider on tap is also a gainer of brownie points in my book! Definitely would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    137
    38
    20
    16
See reviews for
41
114
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The more-than-reasonable rates at the Australian Heritage Hotel enabled us to stay twice as long as we might have elsewhere: three weeks. Our room was clean, the queen size bed comfortable, showers hot. The room was regularly tended, with clean towels, change of sheets, vacuumed. Though ample continental breakfast was provided, we found a favorite coffee shop in the neighborhood to start our days, and ended them back at the Australian for a beer (so many choices!). Even on the busiest nights, tasty food (don't miss the Coat of Arms pizza) was delivered to our table promptly. Staff was unfailingly helpful and friendly. Sit outside for good people watching and a lively vibe. One could spend days exploring the Rocks (markets: food on Fridays, everything Saturdays). I'd recommend the Rocks Discovery Museum (free, nearby) for a deep sense of the neighborhood but it's only a five minute walk to Circular Quay (get the go anywhere pass: $46 a week for ferries, bus, train), All that chic Sydney has to offer is easily accessible. Then, come "home" to the Australian.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Recently went to the Australian Hotel in the Rocks with group of mates from work for dinner. I had never been but was stoaked to find that such a great pub was so close to George St. They had something like over 120 Australian Beers which kept us busy all night - staff were awesome at explaining the beers & helping us decide ones we'd like. Recommend the pizzas but my favourite dish was the beef bock pie. Everyone needs to experience that! Will definitely be back to The Australian Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanDH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I would highly recommend this pub to anyone & everyone that goes to Sydney. They had one of the biggest selection of beers I'd ever seen and the staff were really knowledgeable. On the subject of staff, it was so good to see people loving what they do. Everyone was enthusiastic, friendly & welcoming. The pub itself is quite old but very well kept - so much history in those walls. Loved it! Also had one of the best pizzas I've ever had... highly recommend the Queenslander. Base was perfectly cooked, fresh ingredients, generous toppings. Perfection! Being able to escape the madness down on George street & enjoy my new favourite beer (stone & wood pacific ale) as well my Queenslander pizza out in the street dining was my idea of heaven. Thank you to all the staff at the Aussie for such a memorable experience!! I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed hear in Jan,knew it wasn't going to be a modern hotel but boutique/heritage,rooms were quaint with character,no aircon!
It's ideally suited to visit key sights such as Sydney Harbour Bridge or Opera House,and for circular key and ferries.
Biggest issue was the noise level,I knew that being a pub it wasn't going to be dead quite,but is it really nesscary to have music pumping out during a week day until midnight.
So to sum up if you want charm,character and great location for sightseeing(plus a decent pint downstairs)than this is your hotel,if you are looking for a quite,romantic,peaceful nites sleep,with aircon,tv and room service then look elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano3271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown NSW
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very tired and neglected. Dusty, smelly, no air con and a fan that barely turned. So hot! The carpet is dirty and stained with dust built up along the edges. The bed sheets were clean however the bed itself was saggy and uncomfortable. Behind the bed was what appeared to be years of built up dust. There was a common sitting area with a communal fridge no bigger than a half a bar fridge and it leaked. The bathroom was mouldy and again tired. This hotel cost us $135 for the night.....so disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We first came here 12 years ago and they served great pizza, with good beer in a really good pub. We've been a couple of times since including last week and nothing has changed.

Give them a ring in advance and they will save you a table outside. Also, they do gluten free pizzas, needed for my daughter, but it's worth ringing ahead as the waitress told me they do sometimes run out of bases.

Belly pork pizza - superb!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
914 reviews
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#111 of 178 in Sydney
222 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,385 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 178 in Sydney
1,294 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#67 of 178 in Sydney
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Heritage Hotel

Property: The Australian Heritage Hotel
Address: 100 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Australian Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation features charming antique decorated bedrooms with room types to suit all guests. Rooms consist of Single, Double and Queen beds with shared bathroom facilities. There is also a Family Suite available with two double beds, private dining room and bathroom. All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and access to the common room with a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is also a short stroll to the Rocks shopping outlets, Circular Quay ferry terminal, train station, Museum of Contemporary Art, Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Australian Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing