We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montezuma's

Montezuma's
Ranked #90 of 151 Restaurants in Wagga Wagga
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The atmosphere is really good. The odd decor items make it an interesting experience and a feast for the eyes. Drink selection is good (margarita's are awesome) with quite reasonable prices. good choice of items on the menu with everything you expect and more. The prices are a little on the high side, but for the quality of the food and service provided, they are reasonable. The staff are all very friendly and come round to check if everything is ok.

Just a quick note: for service you have to raise the little flag on the table. If the person I was with didnt know that, I would probably still be waiting to be served. Haha!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    9
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Needs an update ok Mexican food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We gave this a go. The food was not much more than you can cook at home home these days. Dark and dingy interior. Service is not the best even when is quite like the night we went. Over priced for what it is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WaGem80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Next time home made Tacos!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Montezumas is part of a chain and perhaps Wagga Wagga is not the strongest link. Everything was fairly ordinary from the meals to the Margaritas which were served in a small old style champagne glass and, as per a previous review, were much too sweet for a real Margarita. I really wanted to like it and even played it safe with the order but it just wasn't great Mexican food. In fairness there were some family tables with kids who seemed to be enjoying their meals and perhaps that is their market. However with mains at around $25 to $30 I expected more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Libri_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
384 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“OK for a Mex fix but not well run”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Mexican restaurants are not common in this territory. We went in a group. The Fajitas was OK and mixed plates filled a hole but we ordered the fish platter which consisted of overcooked calamari and very tough fish that were cold. They brought it to the table and placed it over a candle based food warmer. If we had been dining alone, we would have sent back. In addition, Margarita was severed in a small champagne glass and tasted strange, very sweet.
For $30 per plate main courses there are many better deals in Wagga Wagga.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montezuma's also viewed

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 

Been to Montezuma's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing