We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive low pub quality food and atmosphere”
Review of Sporties

Sporties
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive low pub quality food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Have eaten here a number of times and each time it was undesirable. The food is dull, and I make better at home with no effort. Don't eat here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    144
    37
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had lunch here while shopping the mall in Alice. Good mix of food and average prices for Australia. The staff was a bit slow and our food was late getting out, but when I paid for the meal the cashier mentioned he was sorry for the delay, so that helped a bit. Nothing stood out to me, but if you ate there at night it might be more festive than the lunch crowd.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 734DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Had lunch at Sporties and enjoyed the large portions and friendly staff. A lot of racing photos on the walls. Nice place locals eat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

All in all a disaster. The food was over cooked, dry, tasteless and just plain bad. Felt like I was at a school cafeteria. Service was lacking. Just a really bad experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheffinjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Huge meals in centre of town”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Popped in for a quick lunch with friends and we were to disappointed. Sportiest is in Todd mall so right in the middle of the main part of Alice Springs so great for people watching'. Portions of food are very generous so order less than you think! Fast service and full of locals. Furniture and cafe clean but basic and a bit dated. Menu selection had all the usually for a casual cafe , most of which involved chips and salad. All up was very good value and a pleasant visit & we enjoyed it. Will visit again when next in the Alice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keyless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sporties also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Sporties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing