We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thursday Schnitzel”
Review of Todd Tavern

Todd Tavern
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Todd Tavern
Ranked #7 of 10 Alice Springs B&B and Inns
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thursday Schnitzel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Todd Tavern is a great place to eat especially on specials like Thursday Schnitzel where the price is really your money's worth especially with the buffet salad that goes with it. Friendly staff and the ambiance is nice. Might be coming back for more!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsdiaresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in the last 3 days 28/5/2013 and were glad to leave the rooms were cold breeze coming in through window single rollaway did just that every time you moved and the light coming from hallway straight in your eyes door not fitted properly bathroom well when you could get into the shower it sprayed everywhere and sitting on the toilet was a challenge bands playing till 3pm or fighting and screaming outside on footpath no sleep and the owner not friendly at all bad experience will not come back and will advise people the same very disappointing

Room Tip: Cant give any advice as this was my first and only time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel is located above a bar and a restaurant. The bar was full and looked terrible when we first arrived. But suddenly, everybody left, and the place had been very quiet after that. We did not hear anything during the night. The location of the hotel is a the end of Todd Street, which is still downtown, but already a little bit off-center. People advised us not walking by night in Alice Spring, but the police station is just next of the hotel, and we never felt unsafe. The room was large, even though the bathroom is in a cupboard. We left our luggage there and recovered them 3 days after without any problem. The price is very reasonable considering the location in Alice Springs, and the room in general.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ViviD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kannur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in Todd Tavern in the month of July whilst traveling through the Australian continent, nice clean, roomy rooms, we did not feel that it was overpriced or that the location was bad, right in the center and the buses and shops easily accessible. We did not eat any meals here, but there is a nice coffee joint just around the bend, Ziggiz. Would certainly recommend Todd Tavern even for families with children as the beds and rooms are just perfect.

Room Tip: All en-suite rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacinthKannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Alice Springs is what it is, it is a place you fly to-to then travel around the area so we stayed in this hotel for a night at the start and the end of our trip. It was a great location right around the corner from town, whereas many of the cheaper hostels were a huge walk. Don't expect a gleaming hotel or hotel grade service but it is clean and comfortable and that's all you need!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dowzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the Todd Tavern which provided a decent, good value for money place to stay near the centre of Alice Springs. The room wasn't spectacular but was clean, cosy and felt safe. There may be better quality hotels in the area but most are a shuttle ride away from town, the taking of which is insisted upon owing to outskirts of the town being dangerous after dark.

The restaurant downstairs also did good pub grub at a reasonable price. Would have no problem staying here again or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The rooms are not the brightest ever, but will serve well to sleep over. The equipment is a bit worn off, but rooms are clean and neat. Funny that we had the bathroom in a "closet" - or the doors looked like that ;-) The best thing is the location on the brink of the town centre and the tavern itself. The food was not anything meticulous, but a real deal of earthly, filling and well prepared portion of good stuff. Try the selection of roasted and grilled meats. Next time in Alice, I know where to sleep and dine!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vtaakopysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.2 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.4 mi away
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
#3 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
#1 of 29 in Alice Springs
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Todd Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Todd Tavern

Property: Todd Tavern
Address: 1 Todd Mall, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Todd Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Todd Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing