We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Good Rest B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Good Rest B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Alice Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This accommodation is very comfortable and the included breakfast is excellent. Whether it be collecting and dropping off at the railway station, making a washing machine and drying lines available or any other of a multitude of helpful gestures, hosts Margaret and Alf are both very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
55
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Annes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here overnight in the middle of a long trip to Australia. The accommodation (we had the villa) is first-class -luxurious and beautifully clean. Margaret and Alf were immensely kind, giving us lifts into town and meeting us off The Ghan, taking pictures of us and showing us Anzac Hill. Best of all was playing golf with them at the Alice Springs course.
A memorable stay and full of kindness. Thank you.
Jackie and Alice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancastrianStAnnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at A Good Rest!! Margaret and Alf were fantastic hosts!! They were so friendly and accommodating. They made us feel so at home, so far from home, and even helped us a lot with our travel plans. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the breakfasts and 'nibbles' delightful! We (my 17 year old daughter and I) highly recommend staying at A Good Rest B&B!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arriving at their front door after 9 days without a shower on The Larapinta Track, Margaret and Alf still welcomed me into their immaculate B&B. After a most luxurious spa with oils and then a smother in body lotions I was ready for the wine and snacks that Margaret set out for me.
After a blissful night in a very comfortable bed I had a sumptuous breakfast under the gazebo by the pool. I left feeling i had been very spoilt and having made 2 new friends.
I shall definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent one night here during our cross-country trip from Adelaide to Darwin. Margaret & Alf were excellent hosts and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Margaret's homemade omelets were wonderful, and the extra touches (e.g. wine & snacks left out for us with a note when we returned late) were charming and special.

Margaret & Alf were especially knowledgeable about the region and gave us some great pointers of do's and don'ts which helped for the remainder of our journey up through Kakadu and on to Darwin. Well worth it & I'd have no hesitations recommending them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in this nice B & B with Magarete and Alf only for one night. But the villa in their very nice backyard was nicely decorated and immaculate. Extremely helpful and friendly service. We would come any time back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank On T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent BnB - and the hosts are a wonderful hospitable pair. There is a range of accommodation - all excellent and your hosts are most considerate. We were travelling with our dog - and he was made most welcome which we very much appreciated. We will be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Devallance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#9 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Good Rest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Good Rest B&B

Property: A Good Rest B&B
Address: 51 Dixon Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Bed and Breakfast private villa just 3klms from the City Centre. Quiet, fully self contained, with own private entrance. Features, queen size bed & king single to accommodate up to 3 people, extra bed can be added. 3DTV/dvd/video, stove/griller/oven, fridge/freezer, microwave, w/machine, WiFi, Bath robe/slippers, pool/spa, BBQ facilities, liquor licensed, books, DVD's, Gym equipement for guests use, secure off street parking, close to public transport, restaurant located 400 mtrs down the road from us and close to Tourist attractions such as School of the Air, and Telegraph Station. Also in the main house, 2 queen size air conditioned bedrooms with own TV's. Bath Robes and Slippers provided. Tours and Airport transfers can be organized on your behalf or the Airport shuttle bus to the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your A Good Rest B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing