We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator to the 1st floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No elevator to the 1st floor”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My and inlaws found the Chifley clean and comfortable. Pleasant grounds and pool area. Evening meal was pricey but good quality. Breakfast was an almost endless choice. Staff need a little polish. I presented at the counter and had to wait for their non work conversation(yes, I could hear it all) to finish before I was addressed.
Biggest issue is that there is no lift from ground to 1st floor. Ok for me to carry bags but my wife (a week out of minor knee surgery) and the 80yr old in-laws, it was a challenge. Staff did not offer to carry bags for us. From a construction point of view I could see ways of installing internal lifts to the building. The Chifley is flying the flag for a big chain. They need to address this issue. Ask for a ground floor room and you should be pleased with the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ground floor room unless you want to carry luggage up to 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 930shanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    511
    221
    57
    33
See reviews for
153
558
95
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews.
Yes it is a older style hotel but our room was very spacious, the staff were all helpful and friendly, even checking us in to our flights home.
We stayed in a deluxe room that was very quiet and had a lovely little balcony.
The room was very clean but the bathroom does need the shower and bath to be re-siliconed, it has seen better days.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant and had dinner in our room and couldn't fault the food.
The Hotel is an easy walk into Todd Mall and is in a nice quiet location.
Overall all the hotel is good value for money, it is in a remote location and our room was around $200 a night. Just don't expect the Grand Hyatt for the cost of the Chifley

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth paying extra, ours looked over the Todd River and were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Friendly staff, nice looking palm area where we stayed, looked a little dated but is comfortable enough, no lifts so you need to lug heavy bags up and down stairs. The stair wells are quite dangerous if you are tall so watch your head coming down. The restaurant had a nice tasty menu and the buffet breakfast is your standard buffet with a range of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraFoodieACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After a few days on the road, Chifley Alice Springs was a breath of fresh air. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious, and the beds were lovely and soft. We were delighted to note that the pool was shaded, something which seemed to be lacking along our travels to that point, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It's a bit dated but the hotel is situated in a good location close to the centre and with easy access.
The rooms are basic and a bit dated but there's nothing wrong with them. I only ate breakfast there and it was 'ok' nothing special.
Good price and reasonable value for money, I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This resort is conveniently situated only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Alice Springs. The staff were friendly and very helpful. My room was spacious with everything I needed. Room Service and Laundry Service were also available. I ate 2 dinners in the Barra on Todd Restaurant both of which were excellent, served by friendly and knowledgeable staff. Buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My second visit and very happy. Friendly, professional and very helpful staff on reception. An early checkin was arranged for a group of us on a busy weekend and very much appreciated. The breakfast hours are very accommodating for early and late risers. Loved their lunch and dinner menus over the two visits. Comfy bed, quiet property, parking close to rooms.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susannahPduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Property: Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing