We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and after camping for a couple of weeks it was just what we needed.clean and comfortable room with all the usual hotel bits. No flies! It does cost more but worth it.we can't comment on food as we did not eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggielou64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    511
    221
    57
    33
See reviews for
153
558
95
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for one day - a very quick visit en route to Darwin and part of a working trip. I found the hotel to be wonderful - my room was very comfortable, food and service excellent and as I was there more to work than see the sights (will be back one day for the latter) I am hoping I even found a couple more contenders for the book that I am writing - the overall purpose for the trip. I had been 'warned' that the net might play up - but mine worked perfectly. Overall very comfortable and I would absolutely recommend it. Hotel shop was excellent too and offered a wonderful range of goodies to choose from. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Austalia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights on holiday before heading off to Uluru. Had a Queen Bed room with a balcony and it was very comfortable. The rate included an excellet full buffet breakfast (eggs cooked to order) which was a great way to start each day. Did not try the pool as walter was a bit too cold!

Hotel is located just across the Todd River (was dry in May) and about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked and was allocated a standard room. This was in an old building, the room was literally on the ground and there was no hot water to the shower (there was no bath). Because it was a holiday, this could not be fixed so I was politely offered an upgrade to one of the newer rooms, which was fine. When I asked for a similar room a week later I was charged an extra $25.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room, it's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u-gauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed for 8 days bathroom floor was only cleaned after we complained. No toilet paper no clean glasses carpets were dirty and not vacuumed tv didnt work on channel 10 7 and ABC aircon wasnt working waited an hour for our food in restaurant . Just not what i expected!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nvcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My and inlaws found the Chifley clean and comfortable. Pleasant grounds and pool area. Evening meal was pricey but good quality. Breakfast was an almost endless choice. Staff need a little polish. I presented at the counter and had to wait for their non work conversation(yes, I could hear it all) to finish before I was addressed.
Biggest issue is that there is no lift from ground to 1st floor. Ok for me to carry bags but my wife (a week out of minor knee surgery) and the 80yr old in-laws, it was a challenge. Staff did not offer to carry bags for us. From a construction point of view I could see ways of installing internal lifts to the building. The Chifley is flying the flag for a big chain. They need to address this issue. Ask for a ground floor room and you should be pleased with the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ground floor room unless you want to carry luggage up to 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 930shanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews.
Yes it is a older style hotel but our room was very spacious, the staff were all helpful and friendly, even checking us in to our flights home.
We stayed in a deluxe room that was very quiet and had a lovely little balcony.
The room was very clean but the bathroom does need the shower and bath to be re-siliconed, it has seen better days.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant and had dinner in our room and couldn't fault the food.
The Hotel is an easy walk into Todd Mall and is in a nice quiet location.
Overall all the hotel is good value for money, it is in a remote location and our room was around $200 a night. Just don't expect the Grand Hyatt for the cost of the Chifley

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth paying extra, ours looked over the Todd River and were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Property: Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing