We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chifley Alice Springs Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Please stay away and don'y waste money in this place! I have travelled all around the world and never seen so rude staff like in this one.
Rude and unhelpfull all the time, thanks that I spent only one night, will never stay again and absolutely not recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrasdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    467
    214
    56
    30
See reviews for
142
512
88
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a very large hotel spread over quite an area. The best rooms are the ones facing onto the dry river bed. All the other rooms seem to have no outlook and are like a basic motel.
We had a twin share room which was spacious and had two double beds. The bathroom is bright and roomy with a good hard pressure shower ( great for after bushwalking) and a separate bath.The toiletries are low quality though. There is a quiet bar bridge, and tea making facilities, iron, hairdryer, good TV reception.
We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the Todd dry river bed. There were a few locals having fun down there but they did not bother us overnight. I think the second floor would probably be better. I thought I had booked this as I booked a room with balcony but it turns out that there are balconies on the ground floor as well, so you do need to specify.
We felt that the service does let this place down though. The (American) girl at the front desk who checked us in was bordering on rude. No one offered to help us with our luggage or show us the room. We were just told to walk down the road and find the room ourselves. When I later asked for champagne glasses, another (American) girl told me to go and ask in the restaurant. I had to line up at the restaurant reception and wait while a waiter was free to get me glasses. Okay so that's no big deal al all, but it is pretty self-service and with just a little more care, this could be a really excellent place where you might feel a bit more looked after.
The location is very good. It is on the opposite side of the dry river bed to the town but around 10 minutes easy walk into the centre of town over the bridge. The lovely botanical gardens are over the road, and you can see the rock wallabies clambering over the rocks in the evening. Alice Springs is just lovely, and the Chiefly is probably the best hotel in town.

Room Tip: Second floor river bed view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

After a long 1000k drive arriving at the Chifley to the night receptionist opening the door and greeting me by name was a good start. Room ready, good breakfast each morning.
Wi if may not have reached all parts of the complex but still for free nowadays was a plus.
Have enjoyed the Chifley and will stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg8780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

An easy 10 minute stroll to the centre of town. This hotel provided an easy launch pad for sightseeing around Alice Springs.
Rooms were clean and the wifi free. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
A very pleasant sitting area around the pool in the winter sunshine was welcome R&R time from sightseeing and touring

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aussieabroad054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Chifley for 7 nights for a mountain bike race and for that purpose the hotel was a great location. I don't agree with 4.5 star rating it's more like 3 star accommodation. Rooms are clean but nothing fancy. The quality of food in the restaurant was very delicious but the service was terrible, don't order room service, it takes around an hour for your meal and you don't receive everything that was ordered. The staff are friendly when they decide to wait on you, but there certainly is no urgency. The hotel location is good with a short stroll over the Todd River to the City Centre. We stayed on second floor facing the road which was noisy at night with the traffic constantly zooming by which disrupts your sleep.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tgirl4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable, with a good shower, and easy to access. We were situated in the front part of the hotel (Palm Court?), which seemed to be a bit more modern than what we saw in the rear of the complex. Front desk service was very good, the restaurant somewhat less so (although the food was very good and the prices were reasonable).

Room Tip: Get a room in the front part of the complex, and try to get a room on the first floor if you have he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eclectic80498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was not an expensive hotel so when I say it was average, people could say " Well what can you expect?" Here you get what you pay for; the rooms are nice, clean but unremarkable. The meal in the restaurant was nice but unremarkable. The setting pleasant but nothing special. It was about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and close to various activities so if you are looking for a central location this hotel may appeal to you. We were only here for one night so it suited our needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanthosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Alice Springs Resort

Property: Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush green lawns contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this award-winning resort, situated on the banks of the famous Todd River with its magnificent river red gums. Guests can relax in the stylish surroundings and enjoy a sumptuous full buffet breakfast, a la carte lunches, and contemporary cuisine dinners at the Barra on Todd Restaurant. Located adjacent to the restaurant, the Barra Bar offers guests the opportunity to surf the Internet while enjoying a drink from the fine selection of beers, wines, and cocktails. The 4.5 Star resort has 139 guest rooms and hotels facilities include 24 hour reception, FREE WiFi resort-wide, swimming pool, cardio room, free town shuttle, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. The hotel is only a five minute walk away from the town's bustling cultural, shopping and business centre. It is a convenient pick up point for the many local sightseeing tours available in and around Alice Springs, making Chifley Alice Springs Resort the perfect base for exploring the Outback attractions in and around the town. Chifley Alice Springs Resort is the perfect venue with well equipped with modern conference and meeting facilities for business events, functions, conferences, launches, weddings & cocktail parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Chifley Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing