We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Every staff member is friendly and very accommodating. Rooms immaculate. Restaurant menu and food fantastic and quick service, open all day. Location is only 5 minutes from town on foot. The only thing I can fault is the lack of a ramp up to reception.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have stayed at the Chifley in Alice four times in the last three years. I have written this review based on my three night stay earlier this month. The facilities are excellent,the front desk service was exemplary . No mean feat given the sheer number of overnight stays.
I have stayed elsewhere but will now always opt for the Chifley.
However, the Barra on Todd deserves a special mention. The menu was well structured,food quality was great and the service very good.
Our latest visit was a treat after a two month bush camping sojourn in the Top End.
We were able to securely park our camper trailer. We were not alone.
In short a great place for a well deserved break.

Room Tip: I think the River Gum rooms facing the Todd River are good value and very spacious with the added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutbackChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the Chifley when in Alice Springs for work. We missed the turnoff into the entrance after coming over the bridge from town. From the map we had thought the resort was on the r) hand side. Once we worked out where we we going it was all good. If the driveway is blocked by buses and cars checking in just drive through as there is plenty of parking inside handy to reception and the rooms. Reception staff were efficient and we were quickly in our rooms.
My room was large with two double beds, large bathroom and a small verandah. Tea and coffee making equipment with plenty of supplies including hot chocolate were welcome as was the reasonably priced mini bar items. My room had iron/ironboard as well as spare blanket and pillows. All in all very comfortable accommodation. Air conditioner worked well, even though it was 0c outside I was toasty warm inside.
Had dinner in the restaurant, service was adhoc on a busy night but overall a pleasant experience. Food was good and I will certainly stay and eat there again on another trip to Alice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

During our travels through central Australia, we spent several days in the Alice Springs area, and stayed at the Chifley Resort. It's an easy location to the down town area, good walk. We enjoyed a variety of tours during our stay so the location was convenient. The hotel is dated. Rooms were older, but comfortable. Good hot showers. Coin laundry facility available. Staff were friendly. No valet service, room WIFI was very weak, needed to sit in the lobby for a signal. Popular with tour bus groups. Our room fee included buffet breakfast, which was fair.

Room Tip: Weekend had live music in the evening, may ask for room away from pool area if you are an early to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I often stay at the Chifley in Alice Springs and am always impressed by the standard of facilities and service.
I recently had to stay at another hotel in Alice which has the same rates and was disappointed. Last week I stayed at the Chifley again and was so happy to be back.
The Service is genuine and you do get the good service, cleanliness and facilities that you pay for. 5 Stars for consistancy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed four nights in this hotel as part of a small tour group so cannot comment on price. I found the room to be comfortable and warm and the staff friendly and helpful, especially the handyman who brought me a bed lamp when the bed lights failed and it was too late in the day for an electrician. The meals were plentiful and served promptly and the breakfast variety was well up to standard. The location on the (sandy) river was attractive and the shopping centre was only a short walk away. On our last day the management laid out a red carpet for our little group and presented us all with chocolates. The only disappointment was that the room was not well serviced on one occasion, with the doona pulled up over an unmade bed and the bathroom left untidied.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Rooms are well appointed but request a room away from the noise of the road. Kitchen staff seem otherwise occupied as service at breakfast from them was appalling and lunch did not resemble the menu description at all. Wait staff and reception staff were fabulous though and their professionalism and manner saved the day. Good location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing