We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self contained accommodation. Basic, but fine.”

The Swagmans Rest Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swagmans Rest Apartments
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Self contained accommodation. Basic, but fine.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Spacious and roomy, but disappointed that the housecleaning staff did not once come in to tidy or clean.

If you want to cook, the facilities are very basic. Adequate cutlery and crockery, but no large bowls for serving/salads and no wooden spoons or large spoons for serving or cooking.

The air cons had recently been upgraded and the old ones had been removed but there was still large ugly areas on the wall that had not yet been painted over.

It is about 10 mins walk into town from here, and we stayed off the main road, so found it nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
18
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

I spent three months living in an apartment at the Swagman's Rest and I can highly recommend this to all. John and Alan and staff are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was first class with all facilities needed and serviced on a regular basis. I intend to return when back in Alice Springs. Kevin Raby

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We have stayed at this venue twice now, and it is excellent value for money. Safe and secure, as the gates are locked at night, the staff are pleasant and cannot do enough for you. The apartments are as advertised, clean, and well maintained, and in our case we could park immediately outside. Just 5 mins from the CBD, couldn't be better for us.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property and will use again if I am ever in Alice.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennant Creek, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Swagmans on dozens of occasions over the last thirty years. Our latest visit last week we stayed in one of the recently renovated rooms and the experience was even better. There is now a larger fridge, split system air conditioning and under bench oven. Car parking is plentiful so trailers are no problem.
Keith Wilson
Tennant Creek N.T.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice springs
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

The upgraded apartments are great, nicely appointed with full kitchen facilities, separate bathroom with a full size bath, and separate master bedroom. The older Apartments although the same layout are a bit tired but there is plenty of room for a family to move about The pool and BBQ area is a great meeting place for a weary traveller. With good secure off street parking, it makes good value for money

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

been here for 3 weeks rooms are fantastic and clean the staff are excellent will help you if u need anything.it has been hot in alice and the air conditioners are excellent keeping us cool and the pool has been most welcome respite from the heat. if u are coming to alice i would recommend the swagmans great value for money clean and a friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the beginning of September. Thank you John for being so helpful. You let us check in early as the room hadn't been booked the previous night. You gave us helpful ideas of what attractions to see and marked them on a map. Even printed out a document for my wife. The property was clean. The room/apartment was spacious with fully equipped kitchen and big TV screen. Separate bathroom and bedroom. In need of refurbishing which I understand is about to occur. The pool was clean as were the grounds. Certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golouis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
404 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swagmans Rest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swagmans Rest Apartments

Property: The Swagmans Rest Apartments
Address: 67 - 69 Gap Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Swagmans Rest Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swagmans Rest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing