We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful gallery”

Mbantua Fine Art Gallery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lots to see at Mbantua Art Gallery in Alice Springs! Our specialty lies in fine artwork from the Utopia region of Central Australia. If you are after larger pieces of art, or looking for an investment piece, we also have the Mbantua Lane Showcase Gallery which you can view on request. In addition to our paintings, we have created a range of souvenirs and gifts called Utopia Australia Giftware. These items are made using our very own art designs. Royalties are paid to the artists giving them a continuing stream of income. In the Gallery you will also find unique giftwares and jewellery sourced from around Australia including sandstone art from Coober Pedy. When visiting Alice Springs, make sure you have plenty of time to browse through our extensive range of art!
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we really enjoyed our time looking through the gallery and the highlight was the museum and of course the beautiful artwork, and its free !!

1  Thank suzan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MbantuaG, Manager at Mbantua Fine Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for visiting our Aboriginal Art Gallery in Alice Springs. It's important to us that you enjoyed your time in the Cultural Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently spent several enjoyable hours in this gallery reading the displays. It is not only an outsanding gallery of indigenous art, but an excellent museum of indigenous culture. The staff were only too happy to communicate with us. One of oour highlights in Alice Springs.

1  Thank 60gbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The owner, Tim, has done a great job setting up a museum in the back part with a lot of interesting artifacts and cultural history of the Aboriginal people. Better though is the selection of original paintings from Aboriginal artists and the helpful and knowledgeable staff who can describe the basis for the painting(s) and the "dreamtime" stories. Mbantua also has the best selection of Utopia accessories in town.

Thank Elanor_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MbantuaG, Public Relations Manager at Mbantua Fine Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you Elanor, for the kind review of our Gallery and the Cultural Museum. The museum has just been revamped a little while ago and we're glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What an amazing gallery/museum. Vast amounts of Aboriginal art for sale all with authenticity document. I had to stop midway for a coffee then come back! Lovely staff too.

Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The gallery and the art exposed are great. beatifull and illuminating. Most too expensive for my purse but beautifull. as for the museum - am am trying all through my visit to Australia to get a better understanding of aborigines and their way of life. This museum has large pages of "declarations" but no explanations, antropologic data, facts and details. The only panel I found interesting is "how to get a wife" and even there the womens point of view is not presented at all.

1  Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MbantuaG, Manager at Mbantua Fine Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Art Gallery in Alice Springs. Good to hear that you liked the Gallery and the paintings but we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the free Cultural Museum. Perhaps we could look at adding some more in-depth information in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mbantua Fine Art Gallery also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Mbantua Fine Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing