We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is what $115 gets you?”
Review of Elkira Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elkira Court Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is what $115 gets you?”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We were excited to splash out a bit on a room after a week in a camper van, and $115 for a "Deluxe Queen" room seemed like a pretty good deal. It wasn't.

The girl who helped us book the room was lovely, but the room itself was harsh. Fluorescent lighting, stained sheets, the hardest bed on earth, outdated decor (wood panelling!! Hideous 90's wire craft as wall hangings) and a heater that only blows cold air do not make for the warm, sexy, welcoming environment we were hoping for. Anyway, consider yourself warned. It's better than sleeping outside, or on the floor of a freezing cold house, which were our other options, but not by much.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    52
    22
    6
See reviews for
19
75
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Great place with good rooms. We had upstairs adjoining rooms with the children. lovely helpful staff breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was excellent. Short stroll to shopping centre, coffee shops, reptile park and Todd River.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveWozniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polk County, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our room was clean though outdated. The desk clerks were very pleasant and helpful. We ate one meal in the restaurant and it was okay (the sticky date pudding was awesome!). The bathroom was a good size and there were washcloths. There was a microwave and a fridge. It was close to restaurants, grocery stores and shops. They stored our luggage while we were on a tour and nothing was missing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvCObest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked a deluxe Spa room and knew it wasnt going to be fancy but we didnt expect the hell hole that we got. The room was not Deluxe and the Spa bath was ancient and needed to be ripped out. At each end of the bed posing as a bedside table we had two old video units! We couldnt get some of the plug points to work at first until we realised there was a switch on the wall to get them working!
We didnt have time to complain as we had to go out and were not going to be back until late when reception was closed. When we went to bed that night we found two beetles in the room that had to be removed and we were woken twice by a lot of noise and someone being threatening very near our room. We didnt feel safe at all and had to endure another night in this place. We were out all the next day and didnt get back until after midnight and we couldnt get in our room. We rang a number to open the reception and a man came and said they had only booked us in for one night but he sorted it out and we got in. There was a lot of noise again outside and inside the room we had two crickets!!!! I couldnt wait to leave this place. I think it is time to give this room a makeover and I didnt see anything like this in the photographs on their website

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Br0lga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkira M, Manager at Elkira Court Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Br0lga,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that your stay with us un-enjoyable. We are a family owned and run motel, and would like to think that all our guests feel comfotable and welcomed when they stay with us. We try very hard to maintain our rooms up to deluxe standards, and feel that despite our lack of resources and the high prices for products and services in Alice Springs, we do a good job. Unfortunantly, due to Alice Springs being a remote town in the desert, bugs and insects are a part of life, and we can not controll their presence.
I understand that not being able to get back into your room late at night is an inconvenience, however, as you mentioned, management is just a phone call away 24 hours a day, and can promptly help with any issues you may have.
We sincerely hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable.
Kind regards
Brooke Lang
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
460 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed one night at Best Western Elkira. Needs updating to modern standards. The air conditioning unit was noisy and damaged. So noisy that it could not be left on overnight in 35 degree heat! Wifi was not working and staff did know why it was not working. Would not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very disappointed with this motel. Booked a king room with spa which sounds quite grand but it was a long way from that. The room was basic, very basic. The air-con was noisy and difficult to leave on through the night due to the rattling. The first night we were woken by someone on the floor above threatening to kill someone and a couple of hours later a woman was wailing outside of our door. We felt very vulnerable and questioned the location. The second night we returned after midnight after a tour and found the key did not work. We had to walk to the closed reception and ring management. He did attend to us promptly and it turned out the wrong check-out date had been input to the system causing the electronic key to fail. Given the events of the night before it was a frightening few minutes left outside the motel with people shouting on the street corner. Found the price expensive for the current condition of the place.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the front of the property due to noise and feeling of safety
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleM83940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

It's actually probably more like a 2.6; the service was fine - the employees were very nice & very accommodating; the room was big enough,some parts were updated (leather chairs, glass top sink) others were not (kitchen was old, tub old & stained, etc); the part that made me very uncomfortable was the seriously stained linens, dirty fridge, places that maybe aren't as common to clean, but very easy to see - hair dryer, was very unclean. Outside patio was in serious need of some tlc. I thought this was a best western plus, but can't see that on the sign; if it is, it seriously falls short; the location is perfect for this town; wish they would fix it up & clean it; it could be so cute

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steward1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkira Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkira Court Motel

Property: Elkira Court Motel
Address: 65 Bath St, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elkira Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elkira Court Motel is centrally located in Alice Springs, providing friendly hospitality in the heart of the outback. From first-time travellers to Alice regulars, we count our guests as part of our extended family. Whether you are staying on a business or leisure trip, our accommodation has something for everybody. Your friendly hosts, Andrew and Brooke Lang, are here to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, providing expert local knowledge and personal consideration. With five different room options available, we are able to cater for all travellers on a range of budgets. Our motel has many facilities for guests, including a refurbished outdoor swimming pool and outdoor barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elkira Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alice Springs
Alice Springs Best Western
Best Western Elkira Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing