We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
Review of NONG'S Restaurant - CLOSED

NONG'S Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$21
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Nong's Restaurant Alice Springs is the best restaurant for authentic Thai food. Nong is the owner who has more than 20 years experience in the luxury restaurants. She is now cooking for the customers you will experience the authentic Thai meals at Nong. We serve the most top Thai curries, Padthai, Noodle Soup, yummy Poppo Salad and more Thai dishes as your order.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good spot for delicious, fresh food at a reasonable price. The eating area is small but adequate. Moe popular for take-away.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisa P, Manager at NONG'S Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thank you very much we are very appreciated for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most expensive, tiny and tasteless”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This is the worst Thai takeaway I've ever had. At $27 for a red duck curry and roti (no rice) I expected a lot ore vegetables and duck but it was more of an oily soup. The roti was thick with oil too. The duck was overcooked and tasted like it had been frozen. The only vegetables were a few floating courgettes and pumpkin and capsicum... No green vegetables. I'm appalled at the price charged for such a poor quality meal. The only good things were the service and the promptness of the service. I went here after reading a few good reviews but I must have missed the fresh vegetable day as this was an oily mess. There was no flavour at all
.

Helpful?
Thank KiwiAnnaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisa P, Manager at NONG'S Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Sorry for disappointed you since we moved without notice since we stopped running the business at Hartley Street and reopening again at Todd Street from 5 May 2014 which is difference owner and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As good as hanumans, half the price”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Love this place for lunch. If you like hanumans you will enjoy Nongs, very similar Thai and Indian themed menu- main difference is the buffet style lunch menu and the more casual atmosphere of Nongs but don't let that put you off because the food is great and lunch is about $10 for a curry with rice or pad thai. I also went there when they had a green pawpaw salad which was amazing and I would love to see that on their permanaent menu. Nongs is BYO as well

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank erinonthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Reasonably priced, food was tasty service was good very busy which is a good sign for a business. Convenient location.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great curry”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Bought take away to be consumed later for dinner. The beef massamun (Sp?) was great. The Yom Yum was OK. Service was fantastic and very friendly

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bacialicesprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NONG'S Restaurant also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing