We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 24 July 2013

our group of 4 initially booked to stay with alice lodge backpackers. However we got upgraded to a family room at the motel. We had a great stay here. The owner is really friendly and happy to help with anything. If you are heading to the airport, just ask the staff about transport. They have the contact of a taxi driver who goes by a reasonable set price (cant remember the price! but I know between the 4 of us we paid less than $10 each), hence it is much cheaper than getting a normal taxi or taking the shuttle buses.

The family room was big, with comfortable beds. It had an ensuite (shower over bathtub style), a kitchenette, and a TV. There was also air conditioning in the room with a heater function which is great in winter. There is also free wifi. Hairdryers are also provided.

location wise, it is around a 15mins walk to get to the main part of city. A relatively easy walk crossing a bridge. There is an IGA just down the road not far from the motel.

One of the best things was breakfast! Breakfast was complimentary and there was bread and plenty of various jam spreads to help yourself to. There is also cereal and milk, and complimentary tea and coffee. Nice little dining area.

The complex also has a small swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayymine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Alice Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I stayed there after our exhausted 3 days Uluru tour.

Positive:
Nice and huge room with kitchen. Clean and cosy. Big double bed with an extra single bed. Free wifi. Free breakfast. Facilities: laundry and dryer.

Negative:
Not central. 20 min walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snaessens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Spacious double room, close to Centralian Senior College and restaurants. Very welcoming staff.
Swimming Pool and locked gates from 7.30 pm. There were always interesting people to talk with over breakfast in the shared kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

One of the most friendly, welcoming motels you could find and great value for money. Acting manager Sarah couldn't have done more to make our two stays here smooth. Admittedly some of the fittings are tired (the room we had on our first stay was better than the second, which needs a refurb) but the place is kept spotlessly clean. It was great to have free wifi, plus a computer to use in the little kitchen/dining room. There were basic breakfast supplies and the equipment was available for cooking full family meals too. There was a laundry and a washing line, making this a great place for a break from camping.
We didn't have a car, but we walked easily to town, and there are three eating places on the way: the Eastside Club (pub meals), the Flavours of India (Indian food) and the more pricey but excellent Casa Nostra (huge choice of pasta and pizza, BYO). It's easy to miss the small supermarket and fish and chip shop just round the corner from the motel.
We also did a walk of about 45 minutes on a track leading along the Todd River to the Old Telegraph Station. After our look round there, it took about another 45 minutes to stroll into town on the other side of the river - all in all a beautiful walk with lovely scenery, birds and other wildlife.
If you are coming without a car, contact the manager in advance to discuss a pickup. Taxis are not very reliable in Alice Springs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We wanted a secure base for four nights whilst visiting the Alice Springs Beanie Festival and taking in the sights of Alice Springs. This motel fitted our needs exactly, providing interconnectiong rooms for a family of four. The motel is about 2km from the city centre and is secured by code-locked gates after 7:30pm. A bus stop is located outside the gates, but it is easier to access the many sights of Alice Springs if you have your own vehicle.

The rooms were large, comfortable and well furnished. Beds were firm and exquisitely comfortable with good clean bedding. Bathrooms were also excellent.

Whilst we were visiting, a temporary manager was in charge. Service was excellent and any queries were promptly addressed.

The site also has a kitchen with good stocks of basic breakfast supplies, providing a cheaper alternative to the excellent, but slightly pricey, cafes and restaurants in Alice Springs.

A truly excellent stay and our choice for our next trip to Alice Springs.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms to rear of site would be less affected by road noise, which was not excessive
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We've stayed only one night at Alice Inn and found it very good. The room was spacious, with enough space for luggage, fridge, electric kettle, heating, TV and everything one might need. Bathroom was good, with great shower and they have free wifi, what is a plus in Australia where all internet is very expensive. It was a bit slow, though.
They have a good kitchen, parking and breakfast (serve yourself). We'de like to stay more nights there but they didn't have availability. We recommend if you're in Alice Springs. It's about 5 min drive from town, in a very quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have stayed in a lot of motels and the room we had here was by far the biggest we have seen. Family motel rooms are generally quite cramped but this room was so spacious and comfortable. It was modern, clean and secure. The staff are wonderful, Gee was very friendly and Sarah gave us some really helpful advice about the best things to do in Darwin when we get there next week, thanks Sarah! We've already recommended this place to friends and next time we travel through Alice, this is where we will stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank HarrisonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: £47 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing