We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy, comfortable stay.”
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed with my partner in the deluxe double room and it was a wonderful experience. We stayed two nights - one time with a car, and another time without. The motor inn is in a reasonable location, about a 10-15 minute walk to the city so being car-free is no problem. The room itself was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable, which was a great relief for us as we had been car camping through the West Macs. The bathroom is also clean. We also appreciated the little bar fridge to store our food. It was quiet and peaceful at night and the place is secured with a high fence which requires a code to open. The communal kitchen was poorly ventilated but ultimately not a problem.

The receptionist was very kind and all too happy to book a trip for us to the Alice Springs Desert Park with the shuttle service. You pay a combined cost for transport and entry to the park. A bus will pick you up and drop you off outside the motor inn, which takes the hassle out of organising transportation.

All in all, a great place to stay, and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noots404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent a couple of nights here earlier this month and it was everything we needed. Hera is the current manager and she was absolutely lovely from the moment we booked until we left. We were staying in the basic room which was perfect for us - clean, quiet and comfortable. We were very careful not to leave any food out to avoid any unwelcome visitors which worked reasonably well.

The motel is a 10-15 minute walk into the centre. The weather was great while we were there - hot but with a cool breeze so the walk was tolerable but we probably would have struggled if hotter.

Overall, excellent value for money for budget travellers like us and we would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Although the rooms were a little tired you could not fault the value for money at the Alice Motor Inn. They catered for early starts on trips (Uluru etc) and put the breakfast out at 4am. Lots of breakfast choice and amounts available. Laundry facilities readily available at a good price. The pool was a welcome relief and was kept lovely and clean. Easy check in. FREE Wi-Fi! No hassle, no problems, no worries. Would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulieS1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This motel was everything we wanted and more. Very helpful staff, easy check in process. We arrived early at 11 and we're already allowed to check in which helped us out as we were shattered from 4 days camping in the outback. We also had to hang around till 15.30 the next day for our flight and could leave our bags there and chill by the pool/ use internet. We very much appreciated this excellent level of service.
The room itself has everything you need, spacious and very good bed.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Alice Springs motor inn for 2 tonight's. It was easy to find a good location in the town centre. The rooms are very spacious with flatscreen TVs and a large bed. We found it very comfortable and relaxing and really enjoyed our stay! Would definitely recommend staying in Alice Springs motor inn if staying in Alice Springs!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Similar to other reviewers, we stayed here 1 night before going on a 3 day tour to Uluru. The room was a good size although a little dated. We both found the beds rather hard and the air-con rather noisy so it wasn't the best nights sleep. The other gripe we had was that our room had a bench & ashtray right out the front where people would come to have a smoke. As far as location goes it is about a 15 minute walk into town and quite dimly lit at night so you don't feel overly safe walking.

On the positive side, you do get a free breakfast which opens at 4am, the receptionist was friendly and they stored our luggage for free whilst on tour.

Overall I would say it's OK for an overnight stay but if you're staying any longer there are better options.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a bench out the front unless you're a smoker & you like people cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hurricane0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, before and after a 3 day trip to Uluru. Our room was a good size and staff very friendly. We were allowed to keep our belongings in the same room whilst we were away as no one else was booked in, so that was a great help.
We made use of the laundry facilities but didn't use the pool, although it looked nice.
The location of the Motor Inn is okay, about a 15 minute walk into town. This is fine during the day, but at night we caught a taxi as we didn't feel as secure in walking home.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lib0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
755 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,055 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: £43 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing