We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value But Needs Updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Value But Needs Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in March 2014 in a family room/self contained studio. The room was spacious with everything we needed, although beginning to show its age. Some of the best features of the motel include the self serve complimentary breakfast, available every morning from around 4am (fantastic if you are going on a trip) and the pleasant pool area. The motel is located about 20-30min walk from Alice Springs town centre, depending on the heat! Just a 5min walk away there is a supermarket and fish and chip shop. Free wi-fi was available which is always a benefit. Staff on Reception were welcoming and helpful.Overall good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tandemtravelrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    162
    67
    16
    9
See reviews for
73
169
35
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Alice motor inn for a night before we went on a day outback tour and one on the return. We were met by a really friendly manager, called Gee I think. He was lovely and really helpful.

The rooms are not exactly the Hilton but they are perfect for what you need before and after a tour. The room we had a had a comfy bed and the air con was ice cold which was amazing after literally sweating your bits and pieces off on tour! The rooms were really clean and the shower was fine. The room also had a fridge too and outside there was a nice and clean electric BBQ and a fully equipped kitchen and a little pool.

In the kitchen they also severed a free light breakfast of cereals and toast from about 4am I think, again ideal to grab something before you leave at the crack of dawn on the first day of tour. The Motor Inn is about 10-15 minute walk into the centre of town. I wouldn't stay in Alice Springs for any other reason other than a tour as its not exactly a nice town, make your own mind up, but put it this way if you arrive before 2pm nowhere serves alcohol, including supermarkets, so no early buying to put in the fridge to get cold.

We got a discount for booking the tour through the Motor Inn, a night before our tour and a night after and also had the added bonus of being able to leave our back packs in storage. They were totally safe and had all our possessions including iPads and Kindles in them on our return!

A few minutes walk from the Motor Inn is a big supermarket, Chinese and fish & chips.

Would highly recommend The Alice Motor Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Missymoo_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Like many others we stayed for 2 nights either side of a 3 day trip to Uluru. The motel is geared up for storage of luggage, for those visiting Uluru, which is great. We had a standard room. It was spacious with a large bed. Everything you needed was in the room. The decor is a little dated, but the room was clean. Good to be able to make some toast in the morning in the little kitchen/dining area. Staff were all very friendly.

Bit of a walk into town ( particularly in December when it was very hot) but doable. We got a taxi to the Telegraph Station, Flying Doctor Service and The School of the Air.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed with my partner in the deluxe double room and it was a wonderful experience. We stayed two nights - one time with a car, and another time without. The motor inn is in a reasonable location, about a 10-15 minute walk to the city so being car-free is no problem. The room itself was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable, which was a great relief for us as we had been car camping through the West Macs. The bathroom is also clean. We also appreciated the little bar fridge to store our food. It was quiet and peaceful at night and the place is secured with a high fence which requires a code to open. The communal kitchen was poorly ventilated but ultimately not a problem.

The receptionist was very kind and all too happy to book a trip for us to the Alice Springs Desert Park with the shuttle service. You pay a combined cost for transport and entry to the park. A bus will pick you up and drop you off outside the motor inn, which takes the hassle out of organising transportation.

All in all, a great place to stay, and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noots404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here earlier this month and it was everything we needed. Hera is the current manager and she was absolutely lovely from the moment we booked until we left. We were staying in the basic room which was perfect for us - clean, quiet and comfortable. We were very careful not to leave any food out to avoid any unwelcome visitors which worked reasonably well.

The motel is a 10-15 minute walk into the centre. The weather was great while we were there - hot but with a cool breeze so the walk was tolerable but we probably would have struggled if hotter.

Overall, excellent value for money for budget travellers like us and we would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Although the rooms were a little tired you could not fault the value for money at the Alice Motor Inn. They catered for early starts on trips (Uluru etc) and put the breakfast out at 4am. Lots of breakfast choice and amounts available. Laundry facilities readily available at a good price. The pool was a welcome relief and was kept lovely and clean. Easy check in. FREE Wi-Fi! No hassle, no problems, no worries. Would definitely recommend and stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulieS1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This motel was everything we wanted and more. Very helpful staff, easy check in process. We arrived early at 11 and we're already allowed to check in which helped us out as we were shattered from 4 days camping in the outback. We also had to hang around till 15.30 the next day for our flight and could leave our bags there and chill by the pool/ use internet. We very much appreciated this excellent level of service.
The room itself has everything you need, spacious and very good bed.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Property: Alice Motor Inn
Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing