We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay here again”
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“I'd stay here again”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Pros: location, excellent customer service, free wifi, heat and air, full kitchen for use, free breakfast (cereals and toast), Pay laundry, clean. Fridge in room. Free parking. Security gate closes at night.

Cons: weak wifi

Bottom line: I'd stay here again if visiting Alice springs

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank howardchang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    166
    67
    16
    9
See reviews for
74
173
35
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed twice during a recent holiday in central Australia.

The rooms are simple, older style motel rooms but well equipped. The customer service here is excellent and brought us back a second time. Also the low tarrif includes use of the kitchen and simple breakfast, plus free wifi.

Overall a very good experience. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This accommodation is comfortable and feels like a home away from home. Great services provided by the team at AMI especially, Penny, who swapped our day trip (West Mac) with the hot air balloon trip. If not, we would have to give hot air ballooning a miss .... Greatly appreciate the extra mile that AMI staff had provided to us during our stay.

Room Tip: Room 13 is a great isolated corner room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euphoriatux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here on the way back from a family trip to Uluru. Our group took two rooms, and found them to be very comfortable and spacious and at a very reasonable price. As it was winter, the only complaint we would have was that there was not any heating in the rooms (and despite what people may think about the desert being hot, it can get down to freezing at night at that time of hte year). There was, however, extra blankets which we made good use of. We also used the fully equipped hotel kitchen to make dinner, which was clean and functioned well. Wifi worked well too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This place is great for a place to crash without all the bells and whistles that cost extra. I stayed here when attending a University teaching block at Charles Darwin Uni, which is just a 3 minute walk from here. Great accommodation for a student with free breakfast and a comfy bed, plus free Wi-Fi to get some study done. Staff were friendly and kind. There is a kitchen available to cook your own meals if you like, and a great pub just down the road with really good specials for dinner at night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend as part of my trip last September, the hotel is clean, well located and the staff are fantastic. we stayed here prior to driving to the red centre and on our return the manager Gee had upgraded us to a superior room, this was a lovely surprise after a long 6 hour drive, thank you. Gee works hard to keep the place clean, including the pool and BBQ, his knowledge is fantastic and he is very helpful, so is his wife. Cant recommend this place enougth.

Chris and Emma

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Typically Alice Springs accommodation can be very pricey, but what a find this was! Great for a large family as there where plenty of beds and a bath in the bathroom, (which was a god send for washing red centre dust out of little kids hair) I love the communal kitchen idea where everyone just grabs what they need and clean up after themselves, you can choose to eat in your room or in the communal room. The beds where very comfortable and in the room we had where 5 beds including a double bed, so six of us easily fit. It might not be modern but it was certainly comfortable and exactly what you would expect for the price. The reception staff where also very helpful and friendly at check in and check out. The motor Inn is a bit tricky to find but it is in a quiet location, yet close enough to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.8 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Property: Alice Motor Inn
Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing