We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diplomat Alice Springs
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Elkira Court Motel(Alice Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Alice Springs(Alice Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quest Alice Springs(Alice Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alice Motor Inn(Alice Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alice in the Territory(Alice Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
70
122
85
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
122
85
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of towncentral locationtodd mallnoisy at nightclose to shopsfree wifibasic roomrooms are cleanday tourgreat place to staystayed for nightsnice pooltavernunclealicesupermarketaustralia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Location is excellent, friendly staff, they kept our luggage for free while we were on a multi-day tour. hotel is pretty good too, although they could make an effort on the cleanliness of the rooms which was ok but not excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Den H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Diplomat Motel. We are glad you chose to stay with us!

We certainly pride ourselves on great customer service, a fantastic location and are always more than happy to hang on to luggage for our guests while they explore the divine red centre!

I have passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Department. Thank you for letting us know.

We hope to welcome you back to The Diplomat again soon, all the best with the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Prior to this stay we had stayed in several Alice Springs hotel/motels and at this stage was a good judge at what you could get for your money in the area. We were looking forward to staying here as we had already driven by and checked the online pics and thought staying in town would be good. Looks were very deceiving.
We checked in to a standard room which looked nothing like their pictures, drab, small and a view of the lane way. Stairwell was dirty and the room resembled a prison cell. We complained and asked for a room which could access the outside not an internal corridor. We moved into another room with no light in the bathroom working. This was unable to be fixed so we got moved to another room only after about 40 minutes with the aircon running it started leaking water all over the phone and splashing on the bed. By this time we were fuming these rooms were not worth the money and were not clean, had unresolved maintenance issues. They also had no motel info card or fire evacuation plans.
After complaining again was moved to a superior room. This was much nicer but still had issues. We thought that one of the trucks parked outside was running as there was a loud vibration inside but discovered it was the aircon unit outside the door vibrating against the wall.
Checked the aircon filters and they were filthy thick with dust. The vent in the bathroom was thick with dust.
The wine glasses were covered in greasy finger prints and needed washing. We have read most of these reviews of this place and management seem to say it will all be fixed but that isn't happening as the standard of hygiene is pretty poor. Do not go into a standard room they are just disgusting. Based on the poor reviews of the restaurant we did not dine in. We wished we had not stayed here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Martin,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Diplomat. I can confirm that you had actually booked to stay in a Double Budget Room for $90 per night.

As per our webpage: (Budget Room) “For the price conscious traveller, our budget rooms are located around our swimming pool on the first floor. These are smaller rooms with ensuite offering the basic room requirements.”

Our web page also includes pictures of the budget room so our guests are aware of the room type prior to booking.

I am also able to confirm that all of the maintenance issues and housekeeping issues were quickly rectified after you reported them to us. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

All of our rooms have Motel Information cards located by the television. The fire evacuation plans are on display by the door, as per the fire regulations.

I am sorry to hear that you did not dine in Stumps Restaurant. A new Head Chef, new service team and a brand new menu has proven to be a popular choice for in-house guests and locals alike.

Thank you for your feedback and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed a week at the diplomat and were very pleased with the location and facilities. We ate at the onsite restaurant several times; the food was tasty and reasonably priced. The staff in all parts of the hotel and restaurant were great...friendly, helpful and efficient. The central location of the hotel meant that we could walk to everything in town and we were directly across from the shopping center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The staff at Diplomat were amazingly friendly and superb. From the ladies in reception and the guy, to the Tavern staff. The tall guy was quite knowlegeable behind the bar.I think his name is Darren. The staff in the Tavern were busy but they still had a smile on their faces. The rooms weren't the best but who needs the best? It would have been nice to have an elevator but hey whats a couple of stairs?
Thanks to the staff for making my visit great

Room Tip: Choose a superior room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here because a standard room was booked for me by the company I was travelling with, stayed a night before flying out and a night after flying back in. Needless to say if I had my own choice I would not stay here again. It looks great on the outside but the interior is really deceiving!!! We didnt eat at the restaurant so cant comment there. Here is my experience as a whole:

Pros:
Reception staff friendly
Pool is awesome (so big and really refreshing)

Cons:
-Entry into most rooms is via sliding glass doors. If you want to impress your guests you should CLEAN the dirty marks and finger prints off the doors. Also clean the marks off the curtains too! It was gross, and happened on both nights I stayed.
-Only had a dodgy old box tv. What are they going to do when the analogue signal is turned off in alice on December 10??
- rooms were really dated and daggy looking, stained carpets and the bathrooms were from the 80's I swear.
-There was no rubbish bin in the bathrooms! Also mirrors were dirty in the bathroom and no shower caps or other items were provided. The bathrooms were really dark in both rooms I stayed in. One room we stayed in had leaking pipes under the sink so whenever you turned the tap on you would get wet feet from dripping water.
- rooms have a desk but no desk chair. In fact no chairs at all. Go figure?
- tv remotes don't have backs on them so batteries were held in with sticky tape. It looked so dirty.
- we had a car, there was no information given to us about when the gates are shut/locked and there was no info about this in the hotel info folder. We went out to come back at 11pm and find all the gates to enter the property were shut/locked! Not happy about that.
- it is right in town. Yes this is convenient but there are a lot of drunks in Alice and boy it feels unsettling at night, especially when your room faces onto the street!

Needless to say I am glad I didn't pay to stay here and when we return to Alice we know where to avoid.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LouiseMaxiMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are glad you found our onsite pool enjoyable and our staff friendly.

I am happy to report back to you that all of our Motel rooms will be equipped with flat screen TV’s by the 10th December, 2013.

Motel Reception is manned 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and we are committed to ensuring that our guests are comfortable and happy with our amenities. We welcome any feedback to ensure that our guest needs are met.

Security is also of the utmost importance to us, therefore our car park is locked of a night time, however, with the property being manned 24 hours a day, we are always available to unlock and open the gates when required. We do apologise that this was an inconvenience to you.

We are concerned that you did not report any issues you had with your room during your stays, however please rest assured that I have spoken with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers and ensured these issues noted have been rectified.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews