We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alice sleep-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diplomat Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Hotel is right in the centre of the town and handy to most things like supermarkets, the local malls, cafes and restaurants, and the tourist areas of the town. The room was okay, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Maikzone,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our central location certainly does make a great base. It allows you to walk to most of the major attractions and shopping centers.

We hope to welcome you again to the Diplomat again in the future.

All the best on your travels,

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay with the great location and very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very clean and very comfortable bed. The breakfast was amazing value we are staying again this friday so looking forward to trying the dinner menu.

Room Tip: Could here no noise in central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrisjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Chrisjennie,

I would like to thank you for your positive review on our property and of our staff.

We hope that your second stay was as good as your first – Friday nights at Stumps Restaurant are very popular!

I am happy to report that we now offer an extended breakfast buffet on Saturday’s and Sunday’s from 6:30am – 10:00am.

We hope to look after you again in the future, all the very best to you both!

Kind Regards,

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

It was by default we encountered the Diplomat, due to an exceedingly disturbing experience at the Aurora where we were checked in for 6 night, after 3 day sof which I had enough of the appalling service I explored online Wotif and the Diplomat came up and being only a block from where we were staying I decided to investigate the availability of checking in and room condition.
Well how fortunate was I to encounter behind reception a young man who was not only exceptional in his manner but also extremely helpful.
He listened to my woes,showed me a room and facilitated not only thebooking/check in process but also advised as to the measures I could engage to address the issues encountered at the Aurora
The room was superior to what we had been staying in at the Aurora and $6 cheaper per night but for me it was the demonstration of hygienic practices and customer focused service that was the important aspects.

Bert you epitomise what is customer service and I thank you kindly for your support, guidance and restoration of faith that peope do actually care about what they do.

Diplomat will find it hard to find anyone else at your calibre.

*for those of you interested as to what we encountered at the Aurora- refer to Nightmare at Aurora- can almost guarantee you will hesitate to drink from any cups in the room*

Room Tip: If you want noise free DO NOT take up the Aunties room option as it is above Uncles ( the tavern) A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Location is excellent, friendly staff, they kept our luggage for free while we were on a multi-day tour. hotel is pretty good too, although they could make an effort on the cleanliness of the rooms which was ok but not excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Den H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Diplomat Motel. We are glad you chose to stay with us!

We certainly pride ourselves on great customer service, a fantastic location and are always more than happy to hang on to luggage for our guests while they explore the divine red centre!

I have passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Department. Thank you for letting us know.

We hope to welcome you back to The Diplomat again soon, all the best with the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Prior to this stay we had stayed in several Alice Springs hotel/motels and at this stage was a good judge at what you could get for your money in the area. We were looking forward to staying here as we had already driven by and checked the online pics and thought staying in town would be good. Looks were very deceiving.
We checked in to a standard room which looked nothing like their pictures, drab, small and a view of the lane way. Stairwell was dirty and the room resembled a prison cell. We complained and asked for a room which could access the outside not an internal corridor. We moved into another room with no light in the bathroom working. This was unable to be fixed so we got moved to another room only after about 40 minutes with the aircon running it started leaking water all over the phone and splashing on the bed. By this time we were fuming these rooms were not worth the money and were not clean, had unresolved maintenance issues. They also had no motel info card or fire evacuation plans.
After complaining again was moved to a superior room. This was much nicer but still had issues. We thought that one of the trucks parked outside was running as there was a loud vibration inside but discovered it was the aircon unit outside the door vibrating against the wall.
Checked the aircon filters and they were filthy thick with dust. The vent in the bathroom was thick with dust.
The wine glasses were covered in greasy finger prints and needed washing. We have read most of these reviews of this place and management seem to say it will all be fixed but that isn't happening as the standard of hygiene is pretty poor. Do not go into a standard room they are just disgusting. Based on the poor reviews of the restaurant we did not dine in. We wished we had not stayed here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Martin,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Diplomat. I can confirm that you had actually booked to stay in a Double Budget Room for $90 per night.

As per our webpage: (Budget Room) “For the price conscious traveller, our budget rooms are located around our swimming pool on the first floor. These are smaller rooms with ensuite offering the basic room requirements.”

Our web page also includes pictures of the budget room so our guests are aware of the room type prior to booking.

I am also able to confirm that all of the maintenance issues and housekeeping issues were quickly rectified after you reported them to us. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

All of our rooms have Motel Information cards located by the television. The fire evacuation plans are on display by the door, as per the fire regulations.

I am sorry to hear that you did not dine in Stumps Restaurant. A new Head Chef, new service team and a brand new menu has proven to be a popular choice for in-house guests and locals alike.

Thank you for your feedback and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed a week at the diplomat and were very pleased with the location and facilities. We ate at the onsite restaurant several times; the food was tasty and reasonably priced. The staff in all parts of the hotel and restaurant were great...friendly, helpful and efficient. The central location of the hotel meant that we could walk to everything in town and we were directly across from the shopping center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The staff at Diplomat were amazingly friendly and superb. From the ladies in reception and the guy, to the Tavern staff. The tall guy was quite knowlegeable behind the bar.I think his name is Darren. The staff in the Tavern were busy but they still had a smile on their faces. The rooms weren't the best but who needs the best? It would have been nice to have an elevator but hey whats a couple of stairs?
Thanks to the staff for making my visit great

Room Tip: Choose a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.2 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,055 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Alice Springs

Address: 20 Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diplomat Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of town, the Diplomat Alice Motel Springs provides the perfect place to relax and unwind with 81 rooms and fantastic facilities. Only minutes walk from the heart of the Todd Mall the property is close to shops, restaurants, cafes and many of the local attractions Alice Springs has to offer. The Diplomat Alice Springs offers a range of accommodation options, meeting venues and facilities operated by friendly, professional staff. All accommodation features air-conditioning, a flat-screen LCD TV, ensuite bathrooms, tea & coffee, refrigerators and complimentary WiFi access. After a busy day of sightseeing, touring or business meetings relax by the pool and enjoy a casual meal and ice cold beer in the fully licensed Uncle’s Tavern, situated onsite within The Diplomat Alice Springs complex, or meet with friends in Stumps Restaurant for a delicious meal and delightful get-together. Other on-site facilities include an outdoor swimming pool and lounge, guest laundry, Tour Desk and conference facilities. The Diplomat is an ideal base to explore the spectacular rugged beauty of central Australia and the outback. Take the heritage walk to explore some of the attractions and the unique Aboriginal Art galleries, full of stunning artworks produced by Aboriginal artists both locally and from the surrounding Aboriginal communities. The Diplomat Alice Springs is centrally located for all transfers to the airport, the Ghan train station and for all tour operators departing or returning to Alice Springs. We look forward to welcoming you to the Diplomat Motel Alice Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Diplomat Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
All Seasons Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing