We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diplomat Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff at the diplomat was very friendly and helpful, without being overly formal, which I always appreciate. Location was excellent for shopping and local galleries.
The restaurant was, on the whole, excellent. Only one meal out of 5 I was unhappy with but the rest were great and the prices very reasonable.
My only gripe was with the bathrooms, particularly the product dispensers. I'm not a huge fan of the on-the-wall dispensers anyway, but these ones in particular looked like they were from a public toilet. They were big and clunky and an awful colour. Made the whole room appear cheap.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at the diplomat, will stay there again when I'm in Alice and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teewiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Teewiggy,

Fantastic to read that you found Stumps Restaurant excellent, and our staff friendly and helpful.

Though the dispensers may appear a little clunky they do help us ensure our environmental impact is kept to a minimum in terms of packaging and generic waste. You take the good with the bad!

Thank you for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Diplomat Teewiggy. Be sure to call us direct for a competitive rate!

Kind Regards,

Anjelka Bazdaric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed at the Diplomat a number of times and we loved it so much, we brought 21 people from around the world to stay there and celebrate my husband's 80th birthday! As usual, everyone was wonderful - the staff and especially Angie, the Manager, went out of their way to be helpful and make sure our friends and relatives had a fabulous time!

Room Tip: Rooms are basically the same but downstairs is better only because you don't have to carry lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doctor1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Doctor1947,

All of the staff here at The Diplomat thoroughly enjoyed looking after you, your family and close friends during your stay. We are so glad to hear that we helped make your husbands 80th birthday just that much more enjoyable.

We all look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your positive review!

Kind Regards,

Anjelka Bazdaric
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we stayed at the diplomat in alice springs for 5 days recently. we chose it on someone's recommendation of a centrally located hotel. we were very pleasantly surprised; the location was fantastic, the rooms were clean and comfy, the staff helpful and polite, there were two restaurants on site, plus extras like a pool, bbq area, laundry.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms facing the carpark are quieter, as there is a busyish road on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AdelaideRookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

AdelaideRookie,

It is great to see you stayed for whole five days in the Alice. That is ample time to enjoy the spectacular sights and really experience the magic of this town - especially when you are situated in the heart of town, it certainly makes getting to a lot of these landmarks easier!

I am happy to see that you enjoyed our facilities and were impressed by our friendly and efficient staff, Stumps Restaurant and Uncles Tavern.

Please be sure to stay with us again!

All the best with your travels,

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Diplomat is a standard, good quality, motel at a reasonable price.
Alice Springs is too far from anywhere (even Uluru) to be a destination by car. It is a civilised stop on the Stuart Highway two days drive from Port Augusta, three days drive from Darwin and a long, long drive of about two or three days drive from The east coast of Queensland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Luke R,

We thank you for taking the time to review our property and hope the rest of your road trip back to Sydney was safe and enjoyable.

We welcome many people daily who are completing a drive-tour South to North, East to West and all places in between - everyone has a tale, an experience and a laugh or two. Hope you keep exploring Australia - it really is spectacular!

All the best Luke,

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Diplomat is in the centre of Alice Springs so within easy walking distance of just about everything you'll want or need to do/see in town. The rooms were quiet despite the bar and restaurant downstairs. Food is good and room service prompt. Service at the front desk was generally very good, friendly and helpful, except for one staff member who really couldn't be bothered to meet our request to book a tour for us because of the paperwork!

Room Tip: Beware, there is no lift at The Diplomat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Gail M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our central location!

I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your break Gail and look forward to welcoming you back to The Diplomat.

Kind Regards,

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the Diplomat for several days on my way out bush and when I returned. The rooms are clean and there are lots of products for getting the red dirt off in the bathrooms. A fridge and tea and coffee supplied and a good guest laundry. The first room was an Aunties room which is over Uncles tavern - noisy and the smoke drifts up from the beer garden - the second room was a side street room much quieter. On both visits I found staff to be really helpful and the central location of the Diplomat is a bonus. I would suggest you avoid the food in Uncles - really poor pub grub but I can't complain about the beer - served ice cold and with a smile from friendly staff.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper don't choose an Aunties room as they are over the bar area which boun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Wendy T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and certainly look forward to welcoming you back during your next stint out bush.

Aunties rooms are located above the Tavern which can get a little noisy at times and the rate is reflective of this - glad you enjoyed the quiet of your second room!

I have passed your feedback on to our Head Chef and hope your thoughts on our pub-grub can be swayed upon your next visit.

Again Wendy T, thank you for taking the time to review The Diplomat. See you again soon,

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Decent hotel to stay at for a few nights. Could use a little updating. Beds are quite uncomfortable. Rooms can be noisy, and mine was smoky from the bar below. Be sure to request a quiet room when reserving online, especially for a Friday night, or you will get a room over the bar. However, customer service was excellent and free Wi-Fi is great!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank erose164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

erose164,

We are well aware that updates are required in some of our rooms and we are working on improving amenities and mod-cons in our rooms.

Aunties rooms are located above Uncles Tavern as per our advertised description on all of our sites. Standard Rooms cost a little more, however they are located on the other side of Uncles by our property's garden.

I am glad you were impressed by our customer service and we all hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards,

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.2 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,055 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Alice Springs

Address: 20 Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: £46 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diplomat Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of town, the Diplomat Alice Motel Springs provides the perfect place to relax and unwind with 81 rooms and fantastic facilities. Only minutes walk from the heart of the Todd Mall the property is close to shops, restaurants, cafes and many of the local attractions Alice Springs has to offer. The Diplomat Alice Springs offers a range of accommodation options, meeting venues and facilities operated by friendly, professional staff. All accommodation features air-conditioning, a flat-screen LCD TV, ensuite bathrooms, tea & coffee, refrigerators and complimentary WiFi access. After a busy day of sightseeing, touring or business meetings relax by the pool and enjoy a casual meal and ice cold beer in the fully licensed Uncle’s Tavern, situated onsite within The Diplomat Alice Springs complex, or meet with friends in Stumps Restaurant for a delicious meal and delightful get-together. Other on-site facilities include an outdoor swimming pool and lounge, guest laundry, Tour Desk and conference facilities. The Diplomat is an ideal base to explore the spectacular rugged beauty of central Australia and the outback. Take the heritage walk to explore some of the attractions and the unique Aboriginal Art galleries, full of stunning artworks produced by Aboriginal artists both locally and from the surrounding Aboriginal communities. The Diplomat Alice Springs is centrally located for all transfers to the airport, the Ghan train station and for all tour operators departing or returning to Alice Springs. We look forward to welcoming you to the Diplomat Motel Alice Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diplomat Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
All Seasons Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing