We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good display of local reptiles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice Springs Reptile Centre

Alice Springs Reptile Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.78*
and up
Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alice Springs Reptile Centre is a privately owned park which displays an extensive range of reptiles from the Northern Territory of Australia including Terry the Saltwater crocodile and large Perentie Goannas. The talk and handling sessions are a must and are at 11am, 1pm and 3.30Pm daily.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“good display of local reptiles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The reptile centre is a little on the small side but more then enough to keep you occupied. There is a lot of information on all of the reptiles and it is fun to spot them all. The staff here are knowledgeable and care about the reptiles they have. While we were there they had Ruby, a lizard, out and walking around the floor. They also had lots of snake skins on display. We unfortunately weren't able to stay for any of the information sessions but learnt a lot just form looking at the displays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wishwellingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    227
    66
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
277 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Learn what will kill you and what won't”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a wonderful demonstration of reptiles, including a python that a couple of people in our group got to hold. We learned the reptiles to watch out for and the ones who watch our for us. We were on our own to tour various cages, pens, to see the reptiles in simulated environment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
200 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“On par with other reptile museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

A great rainy day activity (yes, it rained today!). 3 rooms of reptiles on view and a small outdoor area with a large croc and some lizards. The best part is the very informative show which is put on 3 times a day and afterwards there is ample opportunity to hold the reptiles. Kids loved it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ozetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great interactive experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

From the outside this place looks small and you'd think that there would be much to see. There are 3 rooms plus an outdoor area to see all manner of local native snakes, skinks and lizards.

The real plus for this place is the infotainment show put on by one or two of the keepers. This was both funny and informative.

Plenty of opportunities to hold the blue tongue,bearded lizard and python.

Our visit was particularly funny as the snake decided to have a pee and poo.... Mainly over the keeper who was very apologetic...

Helpful?
Thank Outback2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the only things to do in Alice Springs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The place is nice and the people that work there are also very enthusiastic and kind with visitors. If you like wildlife is a good place to see weird animals from the australian Outback in front of you. You can also touch several of them which may or may not be better for you. However the entrance is still, in my opinion, quite expensive (12 dollars). To sum up, if you are staying a day in Alice Springs and since there is not much to do I would recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dagoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice Springs Reptile Centre also viewed

 

Been to Alice Springs Reptile Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing