We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but a little disappointing”

Royal Flying Doctor Service Tourist Facility
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.47*
and up
Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 Museums in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2012 Brolga Northern Territory Tourism Award for Best New Tourism Development. Since 1928 the Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS) has provided 24-hour emergency medical services to those who live, work and travel throughout Australia. Today, the RFDS provides the finest care to more than 275,000 Australians each year – that’s one person every two minutes. Visit the original Alice Springs working base operating since 1939 to learn more about this unique service. The theatre allows the visitor to watch in comfort the life size hologram of John Flynn telling the story of the Royal Flying Doctor Service, a truly amazing experience! The Royal Flying Doctor Service is a non profit organization, with 100% of all profits made from tours, purchases in the cafe and from our online store going straight to the replenishment of medical equipment.
Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok but a little disappointing”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Interesting but not much of a museum was a short movie, gift shop and small museum. Still happy to pay the entry fee as its a great cause.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Davbar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    307
    104
    27
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
“Commercialised and disappointing”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have the utmost regard for the RFD service but found the visitor centre very disappointing. The need for funds was made very clear to us (in other words - please buy something) but the gift shop predominately stocked goods not related to the RFD.
As an educational experience for 3 children we found it sadly lacking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne2000travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great exhibits”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The displays rekindled my interest in this great service to the outback. Displays are superb and provide interest for all ages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olonzac, France
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The RFDS is something I've know about since my school days, so it was an immense pleasure to finally get to see the museum and exhibition. To me this speaks "Australia". Being part of a tour group, we had less time that I would have liked for the visit, but it was still possible to understand the incredible service the RFDS provides to the whole of Australia, not just the outback. It is very much part of Austalian life. They really do service the whole of the country, as the interactive wall map showed. All tours contribute to the funding of the service, and they are well worth the money. Nice, if slightly expensive, souvenir shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JACACW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPlace, Louisiana
Level Contributor
277 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Overview of the Service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our guide told us the history of the service, showed a brief film and made an appeal for funds. There is a small museum with airplanes, medical instruments, etc.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grip652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Flying Doctor Service Tourist Facility also viewed

 

Been to Royal Flying Doctor Service Tourist Facility? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing