We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well situated, good value, good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well situated, good value, good food.”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Booked for 2 nights through AAT Kings (did excellent day tour and then onto Uluru on their Red Centre Experience) who were very efficient. No car so appreciated the hotel being on Todd Mall. Alice Springs's 'Infestation of mice' notifcation in room but I had already been warned from this website so not a surprise and only saw one near reception. Full breakfast and dinner on both days - all meals good, particularly the tapas. Staff helpful. Would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your favourable review of both our centrally located accommodation and the Red Ochre Restaurant. The tapas and wine deal is proving to be extremely popular. I am pleased to advise that the mice plague in Alice Springs and surrounds seems to have finished with the arrival of cooler weather.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    380
    292
    114
    48
See reviews for
118
436
132
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Great location. Rooms are really nice - clean with lots of space and a nice place to come back to at the end of a big day. Enjoyed our stay here albeit too short.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyNKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your kind comments, much appreciated.
I will pass them onto the housekeeping staff.


Kind regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We moved to the Aurora from another hotel in Alice Springs. Staff are polite and rooms are cleaned beautifully every day. The room was spacious and very restful and airy with its white bed linen. Bathroom was also clean and modern. Tea/coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer and fridge are available in the rooms; 2 laundries for guest use are available. The hotel is in a perfect location on the banks of the Todd River with direct access to Todd Mall through the charming hotel restaurant. Will definitely stay there again when visiting family in Alice next.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for sharing your much appreciated comments and we look forward to you staying with us on your return visit to Alice.

Kind regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs. NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham sussex
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Well situated in the town but very basic we had a room with a view onto the car park but as we were out most of the time it was ok. You certyainly wouldn't want to sit for long in the room. Do visit Bo Jangles when in Alice its like nowhere else I have ever been to.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"
I am sorry that you didn't like the view from your room. The room you booked was one of our standard rooms and some of these do have a view of the carpark. Aurora Alice Springs has 109 rooms with a configuration of standard, deluxe, king deluxe, family rooms and executive (individual balcony) rooms.
Apart from the view from your room we hope you enjoyed your overall experience in Alice Springs.
Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This hotel is fantastic value for money. It is centrally located between Leichart St and Todd Mall in Alice Springs. The rooms are large with a queen and single bed as well as a table and two chairs in each room. They are well serviced by friendly staff. The buffet breakfast was an additional cost but excellent value and kept us going for most of the day.
There is a small pool which was very cold but the spa was quite large and hot. The restaurant is very popular (book in advance) - the meals are very good.
A free BBQ is supplied - which we used most nights.
Nothing negative about this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Large rooms. Free gas BBQ. Central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharina48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are much appreciated by all the staff at Aurora Alice Springs.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs. NT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali Curung
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We travel to Alice Springs for business reasons on a regular basis. We always stay at the Aurora. They have excellent friendly staff there in the restaurant, and Liz the Restaurant Manger cannot be faulted. All the staff are very helpful at Aurora. The Aurora gets our seal of approval.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artist1AliCurung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Aurora Alice Springs and The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant; my staff really appreciate a pat on the back for their efforts.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne
General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed in a deluxe room which was more like a standard room. The sliding door lock of the room kept jamming. We specifically booked a crib for our baby which wasn't available on the first night. Plus points though: room was quite special. We had a double bed and two single beds plus later a crib in the room. Bathroom was small though. Hotel facilities included a laundry room which was handy. Hotel pool was tiny so we didn't use it. I recommend though the hotel breakfast which you eat in the adjoining restaurant (red ochre restaurant) which was a hot buffet breakfast (bacon, sausages, egg, toast, fruit etc etc). If we'd paid separately for this it would have cost us A$19 each. Location was probably the best feature of this hotel as the back way leads directly on to Todd Street (Alice Spring's main street). No need to buy a hop on/off pass as it's easy to walk to some of the central sites (flying doctors, reptile centre) otherwise a group of you can just share a taxi. Reptile centre was great. stay for the show and get to hold the lizard, snakes etc. My three year old loved it especially.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Property: Aurora Alice Springs
Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing