We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Inverloch
2 reviews
“Great Location, Friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Location was excellent, easy access to the mall and other shopping centres. Receptions staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable, felt very secure which was important as I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your kind review as well as the Red Ochre restaurant review, both much appreciated.

I am sure that your comment "felt very secure which was important as I was travelling alone" will be beneficial to sole travellers.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    371
    286
    111
    47
See reviews for
112
424
130
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

As other reviewers have stated, location is excellent with free parking. A surprise was having to pay in advance for the entire duration, despite being booked thru a travel agency. Not satisfied with a credit card swipe!
Apart from that the room was clean, well serviced, and free basement car parking. The attached Red Ochre restaurant had nice dinners, the soup of the day each nite was excellent and so was the eye fillet.
Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zep66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE”

Thank you for the recommendation "Would stay again" much appreciated.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Excellent service in reception. Took advantage of 3 night offer for 'stairway to heaven' room. No lift but great price. Location is faultless right on Todd Mall. Room quiet n comfy, housekeeping helpful when needed assistance. Safe and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, I will pass your praises onto the reception staff. The "Stairway to Heaven" deal is very popular, just click on the Tripadvisor link above for full details.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I think in order to review this place fairly it would be best just to list the good and bad things.
THE GOOD
1) Location - right in the heart of Alice, close to Todd Mall with free parking
2) tranquil and secure. Very relaxing vibe and no bother from over exuberant locals at night.
3) Red Ochre restaurant attached to hotel - great place for dinner.
4) friendly and helpful reception staff
THE BAD
1) Rooms on the small side - bit cramped with 3 of us in room, but not a deal breaker.
2) Didn't get clean towels when room was cleaned.
3) Tiled floor was wet when I got back to room with my son. Would've appreciated a notice advising floor was still wet.
4) Red Ochre restaurant - bad place for breakfast. Really poor considering how good dinners are.
I have done separate review for Red Ochre.
I would stay here again, purely based on location. If Housekeeping improved this decision would be a lot easier.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robkanandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
"Thank you for the Good and the Bad"

Thank you for the review and you will be pleased to read that we raise both the Good and the Bad weekly at our staff meetings.

Keeps us on our toes.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is in a very good location with access to the main Todd Mall. Restaurant on site which serves excellent range of good quality food and drink. Room was on the first floor and had lift access and was comfortable and clean. Fixtures a little dated but all in good working order. Staff at hotel were very helpful and informative. Stayed a couple of days on way to Uluru. Would definitely stay again. Only disappointment was swimming pool area did not look very inviting or clean, did not see anyone using it during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
“We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and recommendation that you would stay with us again. In relation to the pool be rest assured that it is certainly clean and checked daily but it is not a lap pool and it is cold in winter but we have a heated spa to solve that problem.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Aurora has an open and warm feel as you walk into the reception area. The Staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The rooms are large and very comfortable with no outside noise. Just one street from the mall with access via the car park this Motel is in a great location to explore the town. Great rates and restaurant on site with packages that include a cooked breakfast. Value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fromuponthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff as comments " has an open and warm feel and staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble" are most appreciated, thank you.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for one night after a tour to Uluru. Our room was clean and quiet, if a bit dated (not a complaint, as it looked like it had been spruced up recently, simply that some of the fixtures had been there a while). The bed was comfortable and the shower was great.
The staff at reception were extremely helpful.
Breakfast was in the restaurant and was good (not a lot of choice, but what was there was good quality).
We had to check out earlier than our connections, so we stored our luggage with reception and went for a walk around town. When we returned the staff were quite happy to call a taxi for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and yes we are slowly updating the rooms bathrooms etc. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
290 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Property: Aurora Alice Springs
Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing