We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel backs onto the Todd Mall and is opposite the Todd River. (Todd is dry 99% of the time so don't expect River water views). Easy walking distance to Local shops and restaurants. My standard room was clean, comfortable with queen and single beds, tea and coffee supplies as well as a small fridge. Staff were very friendly and there is parking underneath the hotel. Red Ochre Restaurant is located on the ground floor of hotel off the Mall. Nice hotel for the price, will stay there again on another visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Aurora in early July 2014. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with reverse cycle air con. The restaurant the Red Ochre provided really good food and a good selection of wines. All round a good hotel well located in Alice Springs

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bryce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Aurora was a clean and comfortable hotel, with friendly staff, great location and a good rate for a basic room. I stayed one night prior to walking on the Larapinta trail and then again for one night on my return to Alice Springs. They happily stored excess luggage while on the trail which was a big bonus. I was after a comfortable, affordable hotel with good location for a brief stay I'm Alice and this was perfect for what I was after.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Aurora, as a walk-in. It is located in a good location, directly onto the Mall, and was warm (it was freezing weather) and comfortable. Reverse cycle air-con a bonus. A gripe...the dryers on one level not working when the hotel was very busy. There were many disgruntled travellers trying to dry washing, especially after travelling for several days, we were looking forward to getting the laundry done. The front counter staff were slightly sarcastic about the non-operating services, and girls...you represent your town and country...you can do better. Restaurant on site was very good, the food and service there was excellent. Resonably expensive compared to the average around, but a good location. Undercover parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 60gbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked a room pre and post trek tour and found the Aurora to be absolutely fine. It was clean and comfortable for three travellers. No frills. All the staff we encountered were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RowenaofCroydonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have stayed at the Aurora 3 times, the first in August of 2013, January 2014 and recently in June.
Twice a deluxe room and once in an Executive.
Big tip, don't spend the extra bucks on the Executive room, yes they are a little more modern and updated but the money is hardly worth it for just a balcony, that admittedly is cold in winter and blazingly hot in summer, the view is over the Todd River, but it's not running and hasn't for some time. The Executive was comfortable, but noisy, the bathroom window is kept open to get rid of steam and the hub bub in the early morning is annoying. The garbage bins are emptied early too and will wake you up unless you can sleep through an explosion comfortably. We had trouble with the aircon and were literally freezing as there was no adequate blankets provided in the room, it was attended to the next day, without much fuss.

Twice we have stayed in the Deluxe rooms which are quiet and towards the back, on the very first visit cant complain about anything. The time in June well the room we had was indeed looking very ordinary, it was clean but when hopping into bed we could literally watch the TV through the threadbare sheets and the pillows, I make pancakes thicker. It doesn't matter if I am paying $139 per night or $175, the bedding and pillows should be up to scratch, there is no excuse for that in any hotel, the bed after all is the most important part of paying for a room.

The staff from the front to the cleaners were pleasant, helpful and ready with a smile.

We will stay again as our first port of call after driving from the remote area we work in, its the most convenient Hotel to the Mall and the shops, if you don't have a vehicle.

Room Tip: Don't get a front room, too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank darkdreams64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Aurora is located in Todd Mall, and puts you walking distance to any local attractions you may want to visit. The staff are beyond friendly and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable. The lobby is very well appointed.

The elevators are a walk from the lobby. The rooms are completely tiled and like other people have commented, smell overwhelmingly of cleaning products when you first arrive. HOWEVER the room is serviceable, it is clean and everything is in fairly good condition. The location and the fantastic service from the staff really sells it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wishwellingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing