We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to the casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good alternative to the casino”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed over the xmas New Years period, two times on either side of our trip. The reception staff were excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable about restaurants and other attractions we might have wanted to see. The pool was clean and refreshing on a super hot 40+ degree day. The only issue which arose was the fact the air conditioner was not able to be left on when you left the room. It made re-entering after dinner almost unbearable and took hours for the room to cool to an acceptable temperature for sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello, and thank you for staying with us and writing a review that you enjoyed your stay. Especially that you found the staff to be excellent. I will ensure this is past on to them. Yes the air conditioners do only work when the tag is in the wall so basically when guests are in the room. The reason being is each room has its own individual a/c so with 80+ all going at once when guests could be out of their rooms for 12 hour days it is not environmentally friendly and very costly in power especially in Central Australia. I am sorry to hear the c/c took so long to cool down and if I knew what room you were in would get this checked out as it should not take hours. But thanks again for writing the review. Maybe we will see you back in Central Australia again one day. Regards Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    160
    100
    38
    14
See reviews for
104
144
33
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a problem with our E booking on arriving but the reception staff were very friendly & helpful and got us a booking for the night & for our return night 4 days later with no trouble. In fact the rates were cheaper than our E booking?? The rooms were nothing to write home about but were clean & had all that we wanted. We did not use the pool but it looked very inviting. Close to the town center & only a very short walk to the Casino.

Room Tip: All the cabins seem to be well placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Hills, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at Resort for Xmas, staff were friendly & efficient. Rooms were comfortable and had everything u need to cook your own meals. Great environment with the palms and gardens around. Would recommend staying there great value for price

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandralane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

this was a nice place to rest in between travels. the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean ... we will return as we are often traveling arts to look this way

they need some rain before everything st

Room Tip: ask for one near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed one night in a 2-bedroom cabin that was quite unique from any place we had every stayed before. The cabin was fairly plain but spacious and clean.
It had a full-width covered porch. The bathroom was a narrow full-width room across the back of the unit with a curtained shower area to the left end, a sink in the middle, and toilet to the right end. Also, had a nice compact kitchenette with good appliances.

It wasn't cooled down when we got there but, after putting our room key in the wall control, the unit mounted high on the wall opposite the main bed quickly cooled it down.

The second bed was directly against the wall opposite the foot of the main bed giving it more the appearance of a large cot. We never used it.

The hotel is away from downtown on a nice side street not far from the casino on the same street. It's seriously fenced with a security gate. When we asked why, we were told there were some problems with intoxicated natives at night downtown and this was their way of keeping folks safe. They recommended we avoid downtown after dark. We felt safe there.

The office is not staffed at night which turned out to be a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenBColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Friendly front desk, Had a nice room in individual cabins with cooking faculties, not fancy but everything you need, quite location, stayed for 2 nights, The pool could have been a little cleaner, leaves in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review. As mentioned in the response to another guest we did have a problem with the swimming pool pumps with 2 out of the 3 breaking down at the same time so it was difficult for the 1 pump to keep up with the leaves/dust for a few days until they could be replaced. I can assure you we do day pride in keeping our swimming pool clean as it is our centre point and it is cleaned every day and the first job of the day. Apart from that I are glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I just needed a couple of days to chill out before facing the world of backpacking again and this wasn't a bad choice. I agree with the other reviewers who say (some of) the staff could be a bit more jovial (there was one exception, a lovely girl with dark hair). They were reasonably helpful, but didn't seem to believe me that the wifi wouldn't work for me in my room. It really wouldn't! I had to sit outside the laundry to get it to work, which was a little annoying - especially as this was probably the number one reason I booked to stay here.

The pool wasn't quite as well-maintained as it could be so I didn't swim, but the pool area is a great place to relax.

The rooms are nicely done with everything you need and they're clean and quiet. It's located pretty well with a bus stop outside, but only a 10-15 minute walk to town anyway.

I wouldn't rave about it, but it did the job and I felt I could really relax in my room, uninterrupted. It was worth what I paid, which was $99 per night, but I'm glad it didn't cost any more.

Room Tip: If you want wifi make sure you ask them for a room near one of the hotspots. I found the one near re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review. In regards to the WiFi I am not sure what room you were staying in but we did have problems with the Wifi in rooms 34 to 47 for a period as we were waiting on a transceiver that had been ordered. This has now been fixed and we have had no further complaints. Likewise we did have a problem with the swimming pool pumps with 2 out of the 3 breaking down at the same time so it was difficult for the 1 pump to keep up with the leaves/dust for a few days until they could be replaced. I can assure you we do day pride in keeping our swimming pool clean as it is our centre point and it is cleaned every day and the first job of the day. Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Alice Springs

Property: Desert Palms Alice Springs
Address: 74 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Palms Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing