We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Desert!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stopped her for a few nights to relax and chill out and I found the nice, quiet little Villas perfect for that. Nice tropical feel when you sit out on your private deck surrounded by the palm trees. We enjoyed sitting out there in the late afternoon with a cool drink to relax and do a bit of parrot spotting. I loved the swimming pool with the island in the middle which was a great place to relax and cool off.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and I especially liked the fact that you had your own separate villa and deck area. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were serviced daily. We had our own vehicle, so it was a quick trip into town for us. Hubby also like the fact the the golf course was just about at the back door!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would be more than happy to come back again next time we visit the NT. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a nice to place to relax and who wants value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisVegas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed one night with two adults and two children in one room. Lovely place to stay to break our journey. Plenty of children in resort. Great swimming pool. Very clean and tidy. Decent sized room with two single beds and one Queen bed. Would stay again!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank CAS031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Because there's competition in Alice Springs compared to Yulara, the hotels try a bit more to please you. Desert Palms did everything I expected for a middle of the road hotel.
A short 20 minute walk into town, a 10 minute walk south to Lasseter's Casino (with its awesome outdoor bar/restaurant), I couldn't be more pleased.
Their stand-by rate is $99 which is significantly cheaper than if you booked online.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Had a great time at Desert Palms Resort, great facilities, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShortyBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Desert Palms Resorts would have to be one of the best places to stay in Alice Springs. Though it is not close to the city centre (10-15min walk) it is just out of the way enough to enjoy peace and quiet and to relax by the beautiful pool you can go into the licensed kiosk and grab a drink to have by the pool. The staff in the reception are very friendly and very attentive towards all your needs. The facilities are minimal but who needs all the extra e.g gym sauna spa rooms and what not. They have a pool, BBQ area, laundry, and a golf course that is right behind (perfect for your husbands to visit when the ladies are relaxing by the pool or out doing things there husbands don't want to do.) I highly recommend Desert Palms to everyone. Thank you for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Friends recommended Desert Palms Resort as a good place to stay, we were not disappointed.
We mixed Business with pleasure
It is conveniently located and a short walk to the City center.
We found Desert Palms resort to be a friendly , clean and peaceful place to stay at
We met lots of wonderful and interesting people from all over the world, it is a great place to stay at
We will surely come again

Hugo and Julia van Es

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

For Alice Spring, this was a nice hotel. It was a basic, clean room. I liked the porch out front, decorated with tropical flowers. We sat on the porch, relaxing with friends.

The photos on the Desert Palms website were so gorgeous, that actually seeing the place was a slight disappointment. I was expecting a room that was newer, more elegant, and more romantic. There was nothing wrong with the room, but it doesn't quite live up to the photos.

Being part of a resort, you could rent bikes, do laundry, etc. They had a convenient shuttle service to the airport.

It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the town itself. We didn't mind the walk along the dry river bed, but you should know it isn't downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tttravelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,004 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Palms Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Alice Springs

Address: 74 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: £70 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Palms Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Palms Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing