We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for 1-2 nights.”

Toddy's Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toddy's Backpackers
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great value for 1-2 nights.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked a single room for myself for the night before/after The Rock Tour and it was all I needed. Rooms, bed/linen, bathroom all clean. Included towels as well. The only issue I had was that the soap holder was broken (honestly, I couldn't care less) and there was no light in the bathroom, but the staff were quick to replace the bulb as soon as I asked.

That said, this is definitely the place to stay if you want to meet the people going on your tour the next morning as majority of them stay there. It was my first solo trip and I had a friend that night. I imagine you'd have more friends and meet more people if you were sharing a room.

The bar was pretty lively at night and the food/drinks pretty good.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I was advised that we would get free transfers to/from the airport but was then charged for the transfer back to the airport on the last day. It was pretty cheap so I wasn't worried, but just keep that in mind. It's only FROM the airport that's free.

If you're going on The Rock Tour, Josh was a great guide and I would highly recommend him.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teedus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    32
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
1
20
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What makes this place is the people. They all are awesome, super nice and very helpful. We got a free airport shuttle and didn't even know it!
The wifi in the "reception" is great. They offer light snacks and water, the bar pizza is fantastic. The rooms...well. We stayed for 1 night as part of the package for our Rock Tour to Uluru. In back packing standards it's nice enough, but our room was loaded with cockroaches. Some rooms were, some weren't. Luck of the draw I suppose.
It's a bit of a hike into town if you need anything, but for 1 day it's probably good enough place to sleep

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch3llo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night before "The Rock Tour" and 1 night after. I had a single private room which was essentially a hotel room with towels, a TV, and its own bathroom. The room was clean enough by backpackers standards. The free WiFi worked great in the reception area. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The Toddy's bar had drink specials and great pizza. This place is located about a 15 minute walk to city center which is a little far, but OK if you are going on "The Rock Tour" with them. They offer a free pick up from the airport, and $15 dollar return shuttle to the airport. Overall, my stay here was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danimal2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a package deal for the Rock tour to Uluru.

The two (3 bunkbed) dorms we stayed for the two nights were both ok. You get your own bathroom for the room, there's a good-size kitchen, pool, bar with free beer if you buy a pizza, free wifi at reception/bar (although not great wifi) and you can store your bags for free.

It is a bit of a walk into town, but there is a shuttle bus you can use. Also be vigilant in the surrounding area at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had the best time at Toddy's Backpackers. The rooms are nice, tidy and well equipped. if there is an issue or a problem you can always ask the staff. they are super friendly and help where they can. Also Toddy's has some awesome extras like the free shuttle bus into town and the airport shuttle. They really looked after me and I felt welcome during my stay.
This hostel has a large room to store your luggage which came in very handy ,because I could store my stuff there during my tour to the rock.
another good thing is the free breakfast, thats a luxury, especially when you are a backpacker.
And the Wifi is very fast in comparison to other hostels.
The pool area is awesome to relax in the afternoon and you get to know people pretty fast.
It seemed to me that the toddys team tries really hard to increase the service and they always seem to try to improve their hostel and make people feel comfortable!

keep it up, it was awesome, I will definitley come back one day =)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Geours-de-Maremne, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here a few days in a semi-private room (your own bedroom but you share the kitchen and bathroom). The staff was great and the best part was the bar . There isn't much to see in Alice Springs so to have a bar just down stars is pretty good

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blala79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a few nights after our Rock Tour and felt immediately welcome by all staff members. So helpful and friendly. When we were here there was alot of rain so they provided an hourly free shuttle bus to the town centre (which is normally a 15 min walk away) and back to the hostel. I can't fault the teams efforts to keep everyone happy, we had a problem with our room and they immediately apologised (even though it wasn't their fault) and changed us to a different room. No attitude was given just politeness.
They have a nice little bar which make really yummy pizzas and the reception sells snacks and drinks.
The wifi is free and is excellent, not slow at all.
Yes the place is far from the town, but this makes it a nice quiet hostel. My only issue was that the rooms could be cleaned better, with all the people coming back from the tour the floor does get dirty but doesn't seemed to be mopped that frequently. Would still stay here again however as the staff are the best people I have experienced in a hostel (especially the kiwi, he's awesome!)
Keep on improving Toddy's and soon you will be the best in the business!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank josapie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Haven Backpacker Resort
Haven Backpacker Resort
#15 of 29 in Alice Springs
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alice Springs YHA
Alice Springs YHA
#6 of 29 in Alice Springs
149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
Alice's Secret Travellers Inn
#1 of 29 in Alice Springs
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toddy's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toddy's Backpackers

Property: Toddy's Backpackers
Address: 41 Gap Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toddy's Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cool swimming pool and sun-tan area, FREE Wi Fi, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, bar and FREE train and bus pick up, and DISCOUNT airport pick-up - what else would you need? Enjoy our FREE brekky of toast, spreads, tea and coffee - just enough to get you going before start your tour :) Offering a range of share dorms and budget double rooms, reasonably priced accommodation for the budget-conscious traveller. Our "bar" has a variety of drinks available and a large beer garden to relax in whilst catching up with new and old friends.Toddy's offers a free ARRIVALS pick-up from trains and buses, so let us know your arrival details when you book. Winner of the 2011 & 2012 Golden Backpack Award for "Best Backpacker Hostel N.T." Toddy's is the place to stay when visiting the rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Toddy's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing