We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my first choice and not again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not my first choice and not again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I am staying in Lasseters because my first choice was full one night of my two night business stay. I make reasonably regular business trips to Alice.

I am disappointed at several levels.
The room is not suitable for a business traveller, no working area, no suitable chair either for desk or for relaxed reading, just two sort of dining chairs. The rest if the layout of the room is strange, such as the double bed hard against one wall, not a problem for a single occupant, but it would be for a couple. The bathroom door opens hard against the front face of the toilet, invonveniently laid out.

The number of bits of paper laid around various surfaces telling me the price of this and the price of that and asking for my feedback, etc, was just straight annoying.

After a pre-dinner swim I arrived at Thali restaipurant to eat. Waited to be seated in a room that was barely half full, to be told that as I has not booked there was no vacancy until at least 8.30pm. I eventually ate at the bar-style Juicy Rump which had a very limited menu but produced an acceptable salad. I did not enjoy the proximity to the gambling area. Thali was still half empty when I walked past it to my room.
I would have appreciated being advised to book at the restaurant when I checked in. This has not been necessary at other local accommodation.

On the upside, free wifi is appreciated (but standard fare so not exceptional). Te pool is good, and the 25m lap lanes are a bonus. But again the detail is not there. A lap pool should not have strong jets from one end and along the sides. It should be still water and the overall pool water circulation should be managed within the play areas of the pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz-traveller-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hi Oz-traveller-54,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was sorry to hear your stay was not enjoyable.

Your feedback is appreciated and I will raise with the relevant departments.

Thank you again.

Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    396
    174
    50
    24
See reviews for
137
333
90
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baradine, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had our stay in two occasions over one week & enjoyed our stay very much. The first room was in Block 1 which was huge with a king bed & all the usual amenities. The block is well secured with key card entrance. It was very close to the restaurant & pool , guest laundry & not too far to walk to the Casino. There is good parking (free). The breakfast restaurant was nice & I liked the fresh flowers on the tables. The selection for breakfast was pretty " run of the mill" & on the day we went it was quiet so there was plenty of selection. That all changed when we arrived back for our second stint as part of a conference. The room was even bigger in block 2 with 2 queen beds & a nice bathroom but the service for breakfast was very second rate with the staff unable to cope with the numbers. We ordered room service which arrived 1 1/4 hrs late which meant I missed out completely as I was on a day trip - what was served was at least still hot whereas others who also ordered room service got cold meals served & in the dining room there was a continual lack of food & they seemed incapable of catering to an influx of guests at one time. We were advised that there was only one staff on in the kitchen - management should have reorganized their staff better as most of the delegate conferences were Council & Shire officials from all over Australia & word spreads!! The restaurant itself if very nice with lovely outdoor settings to enjoy the morning sun
However the pool is lovely,& I really liked the garden areas, the gardener seemed to be kept busy every day. the meals in the other restaurants were very nice & reasonably priced, the front of desk staff really lovely & very helpful . There is a free business centre & free Wi Fi . The hotel is a bit out of the main city centre but having a rental car it was no problem to take only 5 minutes drive into the business centre & it means the Hotel is very quiet. The rooms were well serviced every day & the new renovations when completed will make this a lovely hotel.
I feel that management really needs to look into its staffing rosters especially at very busy periods of custom such as a conference as this is what let down an otherwise very good hotel & if I ever get back to Alice Springs I would stay there again.
There is plenty to do in Alice Springs with a large amount of history in the area as well as exploring the beautiful scenery in the surrounding area. It is only 5 hours drive from Uluru & the road is excellent. I would suggest a whole week in the area would give you time to see all that is offered including visiting the excellent art galleries. I really is a beautiful spot in the country to visit & the airport is very good.

Room Tip: Block 1 & 2 rooms are closes to the amenities & car parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi Gypsy039,

Thank you for your great review on Lasseters. I was sorry to read about your breakfast experience and please know that we have taken your rostering feedback on board.

I’m glad you enjoyed your trip in the Red Centre.

Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

After sitting down in the evening at Thali with my wife for a drink after a swim in the pool we were ignored for 10 minutes despite several staff walking by a bunch of times. I eventually walked in and asked if it was ok to just have a drink and was dismissively informed there was a dress code. Not sure what part of the dress code we broke. Business must be booming despite the empty chairs! Next time if someone doesn't meet your dress code, come tell them, don't just ignore them then turn them away when they ask politely to be served!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthCuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Food and Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi PerthCuzza,

Thank you for your review on Tali. I’m disappointed to hear that our service was dismissive and rude. I will follow up on this with the restaurant staff, to ensure we are addressing the situation correctly in future.

Your feedback is appreciated.

Regards, Deryck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniliquin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Good experience generally, except breakfast was constantly running out of eggs and bacon (on all of the three mornings I stopped there). Juicy Rump served very good food, but be prepared to line up and wait for a period of time if busy,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
G’day David K,

Thanks for your comments, your feedback is appreciated.

Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for a few nights while undertaking a day trip to Uluru. There were some aspects that were great - the price, the room, which was always cleaned, and the new pool which was fantastic - the gym was just two rooms together but the plans for the new gym look amazing. However, the staff were a real mix - some, such as the front desk receptionists were really lovely - smiley, friendly and really helpful. Other staff, especially in the bar area and juicy rump didn't seem to be 'on it' - both times we ate in here out meal too over 45 minutes even though it didn't seem that busy. There were also other little things that were frustrating, such as advertising one of the restaurants open 7 days a week but when we went to eat there finding out it was closed that night! These kind of things made it feel as thought it was still learning how to be a 4 star hotel - perhaps it will get there when all the building is completed and if we are in Alice Springs again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
G’day Ozzyflyer,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. You have raised some points which we will look into and action. I’m glad you found your room and the pool great, we hope to see you back in Alice soon.

Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was really nice, and had recently been renovated including the restaurants and pool area. REally lovely staff. & we got engaged here so another bonus :)
Breakfast was included with our room and was an amazing buffet from continential to cooked breakfast. really worth the visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fieconny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi fieconny,

Congratulations on your engagement! We love hearing exciting news from our guests. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Vert friendly and helpful, spacy Rooms, bicycles available at no charge, casino, good restaurants, resonably priced, tours available, svimmingpool was good, can be more spacy Wilhelmsen botn shadow and sunne places. Gym can be expanded, Thon this will be a lovely place.

Room Tip: Superior is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Per F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi Per F,

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards, Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.5 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters

Property: Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Address: 93 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lasseters is the centre of entertainment in Alice Springs with two bars, three restaurants including Juicy Rump bar and grill, Tali featuring contemporary Australian cuisine with a hint of the Outback, and Tempo an exclusive tapas, wine and cocktails bar, as well as an international standard casino, 24-hour health and fitness facility, Lavish beauty salon and day spa, 205 four and a half star hotel rooms and adjoins the Alice Springs Convention Centre. Lasseters enjoys picture-perfect surroundings beneath the stunning MacDonnell Ranges, alongside the banks of the Todd River, and adjoining the Alice Springs Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasseters Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing