We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean and free breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice Lodge Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alice Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and clean and free breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

The Alice Lodge is a motel-style hostel only five minutes away from the city center. The staff was helpful giving restaurant and shopping tips. There is free wifi on the whole premises, which works well within the rooms. Everything is exceptionally clean for a backpacker place. Kitchen, pool, an open air dining area and a TV/internet room are available. Worth mentioning is the free breakfast, which is simple (basic cereals, toast, jam, tea and coffee), but you can take as much as you want. The Alice Lodge is a quiet and well run place and never crowded, but bit there are friendly people all around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank splinterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    157
    54
    26
    10
See reviews for
23
101
178
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Alice Lodge is a cozy little hostel, like a home. It's neat, tidy, secure and quiet at the night time.
City centre and shops are at the walking distance and you can book all tours via reception desk.
Reception staff is efficient and helpful. It even has a little pool and a palmtree at the side of it.
Recommended!

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I arrived in Alice Springs in the morning with the Greyhound, I called Alice Lodge and Jake came to pick me up straight away... The free breakfast was a plus with a selection of 3 types of cereals and toast, the rooms were ok and with air-con it's nice when it's +40 degrees Celsius outside.. Jake was at the reception and was very friendly you feel very welcome when he greets you by your name... This place has been recommended by a workmate that staid there years ago.. I recommend it to you too x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a total of five nights. The manager addressed me by name every time from when I first arrived, which I think is a really nice touch. I was in a three bed dorm, for some reason that number seems to promote chatting and making friends. The room was clean, the bedding was good and the locker much appreciated. Free breakfast was great especially as they never ran out of milk. Showers and toilets were clean with nice paintings on the walls. I find it hard to imagine that anyone could have a legitimate problem with this place. Thanks for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nekhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Cool air condition, kind reception and good kitchen. Small rooms but good enough for us .Free WIFI (limited) and free breakfast are really attractive. Few parking space but there is a park front this hostel. Nice place!!~If we will go to Alice Springs one more time. we will choose Alice Lodge Backpackers again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

This hostel has everything a hostel should have-free breakfast and Internet, clean cozy rooms, really helpful staff, pool with hammocks. There's a great vibe here, very laid back and relaxed-I stayed longer than planned,

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I chose to stay at Alice Lodge Backpackers before and after my camping trip to Ayers Rock and it was certainly the right decision. This small and relaxed hostel has many benefits to the budget conscious traveller including free airport pickup, free breakfast, free internet, free lugage storage whilst on tour, it's also quiet, comfortable, fairly clean and a short distance from town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HollyBloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.5 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Lodge Backpackers

Property: Alice Lodge Backpackers
Address: 4 Mueller St, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Alice Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing