We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanuman is still there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We've stayed here a few times, and I've always found it comfortable and friendly. What I wasn't sure about, was whether the Hanuman restaurant was still there, because it's not on the official website. This restaurant is iconic in the NT, and travellers choose to stop here, or not, because of that restaurant. It may not be the Hilton's restaurant, but this is a really big drawcard for the hotel, and they should acknowledge, and even advertise that!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFlaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear VFlaming,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy to hear that your stay was again a comfortable one and that you found the service to be friendly. You are right that Hanuman is a great restaurant! As it is not affiliated, we are unable to advertise it on our website, but we do very much appreciate the guests and customers that stay with us or stop by to have a meal there.

All the best to you,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Imagine how good we felt when we walked in to our super cool room during our recent stay at Double Tree. Staff were very helpful. My computer and the Hotel internet were not agreeing with each other so Isaac got the IT people to fix that. Waiting staff loaned us some bowls for our breakfast. The cookies on arrival were yummy. The best part was the fact we had walked out of another accomodation venue as the aircon was actually warming the room further so we booked via wotif and picked up a room at Double Tree for just a few $ more. Bargain!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Robin D,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review. And thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs. I am delighted that we were able to provide you a cool, comfortable room and an enjoyable stay.

If your travels should bring you back through this way, I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my Mum before she flew home, she loves this hotel. Thought Id go to check it out for future reference as I visit Alice regularly for work. Didnt really live up to the expectations I had in my mind but it was still alright. The rooms are not as stunning as I thought they would be for a hilton hotel (furniture is dated and paint could really be redone). Beds were really comfy though and we appreciated feather pillows! Balcony is nice and we had room 166 which overlooked a little pond thing out the back so it was peaceful.

The pool is really small!! I expected it to be huge from the photos but it really is not as grand as it seems. It was hitting 40 degs while we were there so the pool was always busy and there were lots of little bug/fly things dead. I really mean lots!

Wifi, dont even go there. Not included $27 a day. Crazy. We ate one night at the little bar/eatery there. It was ok but pretty pricey. If we knew the meals were going to be so big we would have shared one. Felt like we wasted our money as we werent able to even get halfway through our meals. Cut the size and the price back a bit. Also its a pretty fancy menu there. If you want something simple and cheaper walk up to the casino (5 mins) and order from the Casbar.

Im glad I got a really cheap NT resident special as I would have felt ripped off staying there at full price. Also it must be the choice of hotel for many tour companies so it is really busy and noisy (and this is off peak season).

The staff were really friendly I will give them that. It was nice to actually be greeted with a smile and welcomed with a cookie (although who wants a warm biscuit when its 40 degreed out?)

Not bad, not good - it sits in the middle.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank LouiseMaxiMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear LouiseMaxiMaxwell,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your stay here on TripAdvisor. One of our main goals is that our guests are comfortable and feel well looked after, and I am glad that our team hit that mark.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the pool. The actual length of the pool is 20 metres. As the summer has warmed up we do find that guests and families are enjoying it more, as well as the pool bar.

I do hope we have a chance to welcome you and your mum again in the near future.

All the best,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nothing to complain about here. Room was comfortable and staff very accomodating & friendly.After thirty years showing signs of age and hopefully will get a makeover in the near future to keep pace with Lasseters next door.Agree with bthe comments about pool shade. Not enough in temps over 40. Lunch deal was fantastic and struggled to finish such was the size of the servings. Hanuman , as usual, was outstanding and a " must eat" if you are anywhere in the vicinity

Room Tip: Stayed in 201 with a view over the golf course and hills behind..All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Rick055,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you found the food and service to be good and that your room was comfortable. That really is a great view of the golf course and mountains, isn't it! Your feedback regarding the shade has been noted and we will continue to follow it up.

All the best,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay there. The pool photos are very misleading - taken with a special lens to make it look much larger than it is. However, the staff were all very kind and we loved Andrew the Peacock that lives at the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Susan H,

Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review about your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our Team Members looked after you. Andrew is a much loved character here at the hotel and even a little cheeky sometimes! I am glad that you got to see him up close!

I am sorry that you were a bit disappointed by the pool size. We certainly don't have any intention to mislead. I can assure you that the photo is not altered but due to the length of the pool, photos can sometimes seem stretched out just given the angle. Still, I hope you were able to enjoy the pool and pool bar with all this beautiful hot weather we have been having!

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We took a break on our way back to our jobs in a remote Community, staying 3 nights.
There was a room upgrade to a Junior Suite.
Overall the hotel was quiet, relaxing and perfect for our needs.
Yes, the décor of the rooms is a little tired and we had no air-conditioning in the "lounge room" of our Suite. The staff reported it straight away but the maintenance never showed. To most that would have been a deal breaker, for us it was a slight annoyance but we were perfectly comfortable in the bedroom section.
The beds were comfy and if there was anything that could have been updated it would be the bathroom, I found it cumbersome to use a in bath shower, it was old, tired and felt 3rd rate.
Breakfast was the usual fare, but fulfilling.
To sum up, this is a place to stop and rest for a while, its not 5 star certainly, but could not fault the staff and the service we received whilst here. The check-in process was very professional and welcoming ( the warm cookies add a nice touch ). Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Take it for what it presents itself with and enjoy the good service.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the McDonnell Ranges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkdreams64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Darkdreams64,

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave a response here on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that the air conditioner in your suite was not attended to quickly. I will certainly look into this issue. However, I am very happy to read that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay. We are looking forward to continuing with some refurbishments in the new year. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come through town.

All the best,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed just one night. Great rooms... Nothing to dislike. Pool was nice. Their resident peacock showed off his plume! Staff was friendly. Breakfast Could be better..!

It was a good, comfortable basic choice.

(Alice is small town and we had a car so we drove out to eat dinner. )

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Ni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Ni P,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. "Andrew" the peacock certainly can impress! I hope you enjoyed your time in the Red Centre and hope we can welcome you back if your travels should bring you back this way.

Yours Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
748 reviews
1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: 82 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing