We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Remote”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Reception area is clean and abnormally large. Our room was in an annexe and a reasonable trudge with our cases past the pool. The room itself was clean but quite tired and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was busy but okay.
The hotel is a fair distance from anything

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOpinion22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear MyOpinion22014,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I hope that you enjoyed your stay. All the best to you in your travels and please come back and see us if you're ever back in the area.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    590
    281
    84
    36
See reviews for
211
501
101
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hilton at Alice Springs for two nights in June. The rooms are starting to show their age but they are very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent (interesting Asian menu well cooked and presented). Although the hotel is a little away front the CBD that may be a blessing as it is in a quiet area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 1KB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear 1KB56,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you found the DoubleTree by Hilton to be comfortable, clean and staff very friendly. You are right, we are in a nice quiet part of Alice Springs, only 2.1 km from the town centre, a quick 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk.

I think you may be referring to the Hanuman's restaurant with the 'interesting Asian menu'. The restaurant is separate from of our hotel and they have their own TripAdvisor page that you can leave feedback on here: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Restaurant_Review-g255063-d725492-Reviews-Hanuman_Alice_Springs-Alice_Springs_Red_Centre_Northern_Territory.html

I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Situated on the opposite side of the dry river bed to town and around 20 minutes walk. It's a nice walk during the day but you would not do this at night as there are always drunks hanging around the riverbed.
Nothing to complain about here. Perfectly clean; pretty quiet; nice little verandah. It's not luxurious though, and the architecture of the hotel is really ugly. In such an incredible setting you would think there would be an amazing building, but like Alice springs in general, no one seems to have wanted to make this investment.
The service here is pretty good though. Apart from no one offering to take our bags to our room - quite a long way away from reception - we otherwise had good service from the front desk.
The restaurant onsite - Hanuman - is good and reasonably priced. You need to book as it is probably the best restaurant in Alice.
The spa in the gym is broken and I heard that it has been broken for a long time. That's probably not good enough.
In a town where there is not much choice of good hotels, I think the Doubletree is a reasonable decision especially if you can use some points and get a bargain room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear louloubelle,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review.
We have completed a number of upgrades at our hotel and have lots more planned for the future.
I do hope you enjoyed your stay and I apologise that our porter was not available to assist you with your bags.
The Hanuman's restaurant is not a part of our hotel but is in fact separately run, you can leave feedback for them here on their TripAdvisor page: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Restaurant_Review-g255063-d725492-Reviews-Hanuman_Alice_Springs-Alice_Springs_Red_Centre_Northern_Territory.html

You mentioned that the spa in the gym is broken, which is not true. It is actually a plunge pool in the gym, which is suppose to be cool and used when hopping out of the Sauna. I hope this clarifies things for you.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a night when we were touring Austrialia in a Scandinavian group. Alice Springs is widespread, and the hotel is situated some distance from "downtown". The rooms were spacious and well equipped. The dinner at the in-house China restaurant was very good.
The breakfast had an acceptable number of choices.
The checking out next morning did not hold the same quality as the rest of the stay, and we had to wait for quite a while.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear KnutPG,

Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review, I hope you and your wife enjoyed your travels through our lovely outback. Our hotel is only located 2.1km from the town centre which is a short 20min walk or 5 min car drive.
I'm glad you enjoyed the Hanuman's restaurant, they are not actually a part of our hotel and have their own TripAdvisor page, so please feel free to leave them feedback here: http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Restaurant_Review-g255063-d725492-Reviews-Hanuman_Alice_Springs-Alice_Springs_Red_Centre_Northern_Territory.html

I apologise if the check-out process was a little slow for your liking, being a part of a group booking can sometimes take longer processing the paperwork.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

After driving from Kings Canyon it was beautiful to set foot in the Double Tree Hilton Alice Springs! Staff efficient and received a warm cookie on arrival. Room was tidy with a beautiful view of the driving range and McDonnell Ranges. Breakfast was OK - staff were not very helpful, espresso coffee took about 15mins for one coffee and was extremely bitter. Turn down and cleaning staff were very friendly and did a great job. So nice to return to a clean room after dinner. The gym facilities were good and pool was nice and refreshing. Very safe place and peaceful to sit on your balcony watching the rabbits run around the golfing range. Very close to town, although only if you have a car (bout 4mins in car), personally I think a little too far to walk especially regarding safety etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracieharrizle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear gracieharrizle,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be peaceful and restful. I appreciate your feedback about our Springs breakfast restaurant and I'll pass on your comments to the team.
All the best to you in your travels and please come back and see us if you're ever back in the area.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is out of town so has the feel of a vacation spot in the country vs. a room in a city hotel. Close enough to walk to town about 15 mins or a short taxi ride.
Check in was quick and efficient with our bags quickly taken and deposited in our room, this was good as it was a reasonable walk to the block we were in. Loved the warm chocolate cookie, a nice touch and appreciated with the cuppa in the room after a long day driving.
Our balcony on the 2nd floor overlooked the pool with tall trees close by definitely a relaxing atmosphere. Sitting listening to the bird song was most relaxing. For those that relax at night watching TV there was a wide range of stations available as well as movies to hire. Free internet in the business centre, with one hour free daily in the lobby on your own device.
The main failure was bed making (not only here it seems to be everywhere) after the 2nd night of "bottom sheet being a mess" we simply made out own beds. Pulling up the top sheets without straightening / tucking in the bottom sheet simply doesn't work.
Breakfast would have covered everyone's tastes with a wide selection of hot and cold foods. A warning the tongs got VERY hot and I burned my hand, they were replaced immediately when I mentioned this although each morning this was a problem.
We had several meals in the bar area which were enjoyed at the end of the sightseeing day we all recommend the burger :) On our first night (we'd only been there 2 hours) we felt that we were a nuisance as we had not booked and they had a few conference people there enjoying their drinks and networking. This attitude was not apparent on subsequent occasions.
The pool and spa were also great relaxers, although it states towels will be available at the pool there were several of us caught out with no towel, but when contacted they were immediately brought out. Mind the worn pavers around the pool, as once your feet are wet and soft you can easily feel the sharp pieces of aggregate where the concrete has worn away with the water.
Would I stay there again, yes with no hesitation.

Room Tip: If minor pool noise bothers you, then request a room not overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Barbara H,

Thank you for your lovely and very in-depth feedback. I'm glad you had a nice time while you stayed in Alice Springs. I appreciate all your comments and I have passed them onto the relevant department managers for follow up. This kind of feedback assists us in making changes to our hotel operations that benefits all our guests and is very greatly appreciated.
I'm sincerely sorry you felt like a nuisance on your first night visiting The Deck Bar and Eatery, we would never want you to feel that way. The Deck Bar and Eatery is quite a popular networking venue, but we do cater to all people so I hope our staff did try their best to make you feel accommodated for.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our lovely hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for a night on route to Darwin and found this a great little spot to stay. The staff are friendly, rooms great (although some updated pillows may be good) and facilities adequate for your needs. Good location and we highly recommend dining in Hanumans.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Joanne I,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy to hear that you were comfortable, well looked after, and found our staff to be friendly. I'm sorry to hear that the pillows did not meet your comfort needs and please be assured we have passed on this feedback to the relevant department.
I do hope you will come back and stay with us again if your travels should bring you back this way.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Address: Crowne Plaza 82 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing