We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay rooms.. but a fantastic restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The best - Chocolate cookies on arrival, dining at Hanuman Restaurant, excellent breakfast service.
The good - it's in a quiet part of town, but is still within walking distance of city centre.
The bad - rooms are a bit dated, toilet had a minor flushing problem, and there was no concierge (to provide info on 'what's on' and 'places to visit'). Reception staff were happy to order a taxi for me to go to the Cultural Precinct even though it wasn't open that day (I found this out after I was dropped off at the venue!
The very worst - paying EXTRA for Internet use in your room. It is cheeky to make that an additional cost. Of course, travellers want to send emails and make further travel plans etc..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Sue S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate you comments and will follow up with my team. I do hope you had an enjoyable stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

All the staff were really helpful and friendly, the grounds are beautiful and the cookies are such a nice touch. The meals were nice, having the Hanuman in the hotel is a bonus and it's not too far to walk into the city centre. Andrew the resident peacock is beautiful. My only gripe is that there's no free internet in the rooms, you can only access it free from the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Toni C,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We certainly look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

...although this doesn't mean it's a very good hotel. It's a big, very big and you might end up very far from the lobby/breakfast. The lobby employees recommended us NOT to walk to/from town after dark. Reasonably clean but needs some serious renovations in rooms and shared spaces. Very good service

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank CeltiberoBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear CeltiberoBarcelona,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate your feedback. Our reception staff do recommend that for safety reasons our guests travel by taxi at night to town. Our hotel is located 2.1km from the town centre and it can be a little dark walking along the river at night. I'm glad you enjoyed the friendly service of our staff. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I was very happy with our stay. We only stayed one night but couldn't fault a thing. We traveled with our 9mth old son and asked for a porta cot upon arrival. The super friendly staff said sure and that they would send someone up shortly.with one. By the time we got to the room there was already someone in there sitting the cot up for us. The bed are comfy and there was an assortment of pillows to pick from. We had dinner downstairs at the "thai" restaurant... I'd more call it the ethnic restaurant as it serves all types of cuisine. I recommend booking to eat here as it was super busy and we waited some time for a table (our fault we should have booked as there were 8 of us dinning) the deck bar and restaurant is also nice. Overall great please to stay I would recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Katski87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Katski87,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and you enjoyed the dining experiences of Deck Eatery & Bar Restaurant and the onsite Hanuman's restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton in the future.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights a few weeks back. I expected better for the money, especially after having stayed in numerous other Hotels in Alice.

The Northern Territory Flag being flown upside down (see uploaded photo) was also embarrassing for a tourism business.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Dan G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments. My sincere apologies that our flag was flown upside down. I will be sure to follow the issue up with our Front Office team.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had to leave a note to request the empty tissue holder in bathroom to be replenished after I waited a couple of days for them to do it. One day, while at work I returned in the evening to find my room door open(latch between door & door-jam)! Presumably left this way by housekeeping in the morning. No instructions for heating operation - freezing at night. Otherwise nice place, just let down by some of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank EchoGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear EchoGuru,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I really appreciate your feedback and I apologise that you had a disheartening experience during your stay. I will be sure to follow up with both housekeeping, regarding the replenishment and of your amenities and the door left open, as well as our maintenance team in regards to the heating in your room. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again and have the opportunity to make it right for you.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I'd expect more value for money. Staff and service is great, facilities are outdated and need updating. As a solo traveller I primarily wanted a place to sleep and relax after visiting the sights during the day and found the room facilities a little bland and old.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Retts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-ASPDA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Retts11,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a reference. I appreciate your comments and I'm glad to hear you found our team to be helpful, friendly and offer great service.

Regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.3 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
748 reviews
1 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: 82 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience eco-friendly luxury and enjoy stunning views of the majestic MacDonnell Mountain Ranges when you stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs. Conveniently located just off of Stuart Highway, the hotel is only 15 minutes' drive from Alice Springs Airport and within walking distance of downtown. Enjoy easy access to many businesses, government offices and attractions such as Simpsons Gap, Desert Park and Anzac Hill. Ideal for both corporate and leisure guests, this Alice Springs hotel offers fantastic business and recreational facilities and friendly service from our dedicated staff. We will even welcome you with a signature, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check in. All of our spacious guest rooms and suites offer mountain views, generous work surfaces, luxurious bedding and high-speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour fitness centre, improve your serve on one of two tennis courts, swim in the heated outdoor pool overlooking the lush garden landscape or play a round on the 18-hole golf course located just next door. Unwind in our inviting Deck Eatery and Bar, enjoy lunch in our casual, bistro-style restaurant, Springs, or savour the highest quality, fine-dining experience in the area in Hanuman. Hold an event at this Alice Springs hotel with 700 sq. meters of meeting space, including a divisible grand ballroom, the latest A/V equipment and a business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing