We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Creek Station
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly spot”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Camped here for 2 nights and had a great time. Friendly staff, great breakfasts! The camp site was well grassed, and shower block clean. There were a couple of school groups next to us also, but well managed. Was great to see the camels and the donkey. Their friendly dog took us for a great walk out to the water tanks, which my son just loved. And the helicopter flight over the surrounding area was a real highlight thanks to a great pilot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    76
    35
    24
    13
See reviews for
59
85
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
553 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I came here for my morning breakfast. Outback hospitality here was truly great. There were two hardy Japanese helpers that cooked up a magnificent Aussie lads' breakfast with eggs, bacons with grit, beans. This is a well-managed station with camels being exported to the Middle East. There's a great documentary made called Unfinished Business, which told the story of the owner who invested in the education of the Aborigine group that lives nearby. It's great to see the ranch owner having a vested interest towards the plight of the people to ensure that the land and the people continue to exist in harmony. Accommodation from the outset look basic but this is to be expected. Commendable visit just to give you a feel of what cattle station is all about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stopped here for one night during our Emu Run tour of Uluru and the red centre. Emu Run have a private permanent camp site here with static wooden floored tents, a mess hall and a fire pit. All of this was just perfect and meant that my wife was happy that she did not have to sleep out under the stars again if she didn't wnt to, good job as it rained the night we were there. Toilet and shower facilities were excellent given the location with lots of hot water at a good pressure.

There is a cafe, shop and a bar on site all of which seemed perfectly acceptible. The place is obviously set up to extract as much cash from coach tours that drop in as possibe and there is nothing wrong with that.

If you want, you can go on camel rides, quad bike tours or splash out on a helicopter flight, all at a cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

we stayed at the kings creek station during our trip from melbourne to alice springs. We slept in swags on one of the camp grounds - which was great. toilet and bathroom facilities were also clean.

I especially enjoyed the quad biking tour we did at the station which lastet 1 hour - when you are there you should really do it, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located 35km before Kings Canyon, this is a working cattle station. It has cosy small safari-style canvas tents on solid floors with shared amenities and a kitchen-BBQ area. The couple who runs the resort are friendly and very helpful. Nice walks from the resort. A very nice place to experience the vastness and isolation of the outback. We stayed only one night on our way to Uluru/Ayers Rock but we would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaninaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
637 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Don't know what it was about this place but we simply could not connect with it. There was something about it which gave off a negative vibe. Maybe it was the not quite cleanness of the place. Maybe the uninteresting sunset at Three Tank Hill. Maybe the disinterested service at the bar. Cannot put my finger on it...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here on the night of 23rd November with the tour company and was very surprised by how comprehensive the facilities are for tourists in this far-from-anything outback spot. Drinking water is clear and plentiful, not awful bore water. The showers and toilets are clean and functional. The tour companies have a rather large visible and kind of noisy presence here but there is a private camping ground for independent travellers on the property, and it's grassed — yes, grass, here in the desert! Quad bikes to ride on if you feel the need to get mobile (safely!). A sparkling swimming pool was the last thing I imagined to find, and that was a beautiful way to cool off in the sweltering heat. I am anticipating a return stay here as a solo traveller in the southern winter of 2014.

Room Tip: Avoid cabins facing north where the heat of the sun during the day can turn them into an oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alice Springs
138.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
138.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
138.7 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
138.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
397 reviews
139.4 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
920 reviews
22.0 mi away
Kings Canyon Resort
Kings Canyon Resort
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Creek Station

Property: Kings Creek Station
Address: PMB 164, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian and Lyn Conway established Kings Creek Station in 1981. The station lies 36 kilometres from the magnificent Kings Canyon (Watarrka) and is set amongst majestic desert oaks. Kings Creek Station is a working cattle/camel station with facilities for camping, accommodation and an opportunity to experience the outback either by quad (4 wheel motorbike), helicopter or camel. Basic supplies, meals and drinks can be bought at the station shop. You could even try one of our famous Kings Creek camel burgers!!!! The station is the largest exporter of wild camels in Australia and sells camels for live export, live domestic sales and meat. 37 documentaries have been filmed at Kings Creek and the station hosted Australian Geographics' fourth expedition. In 2001 the world famous Australian Safari travelled through and stayed at the station. Kings Creek Station has also been featured on 7 Sunrise Weather hosted by Grant Denyer in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Creek Station Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing