We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So, so, so bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oriental Gourmet

The Oriental Gourmet
Ranked #46 of 94 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So, so, so bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We ate here at the recommendation of a local and deeply regretted it. The clueless staff had trouble answering simple questions, such as "What is inside the friend wontons?". The food was so incredibly nasty that my friend ate nothing but rice and I picked out the vegetables. Neither one of use could stomach the weird, slimy chicken in our dishes. I wish I hadn't even eaten the veggies as I was sick as soon as I returned to our hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaoAnTian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
taipei
Level Contributor
214 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“best chinese food restaurant in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

you should try to dine there with frineds at least 4 people,
you can share foods you order!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank badten16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alice's best chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

As a former long term resident and now interstate resident for more than 20 yrs, I used to dine when I lived in alice and now always dine when I go back. The staff are lovely, attentive and the food fresh and delicious! Lots of options and Jasmine tea when I asked was brought out! I will be back again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narangba, Qld
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Really enjoyed the meal and the staff went out of their way to assist. Prices very reasonable and well prepared and presented.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iangtr1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Food was great but the after affects were awful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The food was delicious and the service was friendly but not very efficient. Only problem was that both my husband and I suffered from dreadful indigestion and reflux for most of the night and had a shocking night's sleep as a result. Take your Mylanta!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oriental Gourmet also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to The Oriental Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing