We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent services, near centre town, charming vue and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alice Springs Airport Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent services, near centre town, charming vue and rooms”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We enjoy our stay in Airport motel with Steve and Karen, very nice with us, helpful, friendly and lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessaescalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
16
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Checked around town and found this to be the most suitable Motel for off street parking for trucks. Checking in was easy with very helpful staff. The motel has a huge well lit car park, which fits large trucks and the whole motel becomes secure after dark. Only guests with access codes are able to enter once the gates are closed. This is the quieter end of town which is great to know as I had expensive equipment on my truck; it’s a pretty good set up for any vehicle like tradesmen’s cars that need security.

Rooms are a little dated, but quite large and clean, with comfortable beds and very quiet air conditioning which is a bonus for weary drivers like me. Handy having a bistro next door even though it’s only a 5 minute drive to town. All in all, pretty good value for a budget motel and will definitely stay here on my return trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

My experience at this motel was very good. The managers do all thet can plus take an extra step for each person staying. I stayed 7 weeks at the Airport Motel and would do so again if I go back. The rooms are clean and have the amenities that are required for a short and or long stay. THE WORD IS CLEAN!! Keep it in mind. These folks make sure of that on a daily basis. Anything that is need is only a few minutes away in any direction. Don't over look this motel what ever you do....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameshoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skye, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

what a lovely and relaxing place to stay with the staff assisting to all your needs to the best of there ability, nothing is to much trouble for them. rooms are neat and tidy with all the things you could ask for in a motel. look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This hotel is definitly one of the most horrible hotels we´ve ever been to during the last years. It´s absolutly ugly, the rooms are big, but so old and used that you think you´re back in 1940. I´ve never had such an uncomfortable location. It was disgusting to see the bed and the totally used bed sheets. I hated to sleep in it! Never again such an experience. Please don´t go to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sargentsteve1, Manager at Alice Springs Airport Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
We are sorry this is how you felt, but we do feel there may be some exageration here. This motel was only built in 1983 so if you think your back in the 1940’s you weren’t here. We didn’t realise Flat screen TV’s, split system airconditioners, microwaves, toasters, electric kettles & cable TV where around in the 40’s. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and we would not permit a room to be in the condition you have described. Everyone please remember this is one person’s extravagant review, please read all the other reviews before making your mind up about this motel. For the information of future guests, we are currently updating our bathrooms with new shower heads, basins, hand taps & a new coat of paint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Exstreamly happy with quality of room, clean, spacious, freshly painted, great setting, and great value for money, will definately return to Alice Springs and stay here again.
A BIG thank u to Karen and Steve (motel managers) for making us welcome!
THANKS guys!
Cheers Cheryl & Steve

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypz1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

4 nights in this older standard motel a bit out of town proved to be better than expected, on arrival.
I was at a conference in Alice Springs, and most people were at the upmarket venues near the conference center, so I was a bit concerned when I arrived. It looks a bit like a fortress, a previous reviewer said they felt unsafe, but that's the reality in the Alice late at night!
The motel itself was very safe, and the pub next door has an excellent bistro.
The motel proprietors were extremely helpful, and although it's a bit out of town, it's only a 10 minute walk to the conference center, and about 30mins into town (< than 10 mins - about $11 in a taxi).
It cost me about $100 less per night, the staff were very helpful, the pool was wonderful, after a hot day, and there was a microwave - so you could self-cater to cut costs.
I particularly liked the fact that this motel caters for Indigenous people - no racism here, but a healthy security policy.
Definitely value for money, and excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scatty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
2.4 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alice in the Territory
Alice in the Territory
#11 of 13 in Alice Springs
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Airport Motel

Property: Alice Springs Airport Motel
Address: The Gap Motel 355 115 Gap Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Alice Springs Airport Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes drive from the airport at the southern entrance to Alice Springs. The motel has views of the stunning MacDonnell Ranges and is a short 5 minute drive to the town centre. We are situated in a quiet location and would be the perfect stopover before & after heading to Uluru. The Alice Springs Airport Motel has 45 rooms and enjoys a 3 star rating. Ideal budget conscious Motel, rooms are spacious and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms; whisper quiet split system air conditioners, Austar Satellite TV, DVD Players. Flat screen TV’s. The rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities, microwaves, with hair dryers and irons in Premium Rooms. The motel has a fenced in ground pool with an adjoining free guest BBQ area. Other facilities include Free Wireless Internet for all rooms and a guest laundry. Great budget motel ideally suited to Tradesman & Contractors. With guest’s safety in mind, we have a secure, sealed and well lit, off street car park with automatic gates at the entrances and exits, after hour’s keypad entry for additional security. Drive in and drive out bays for trucks or vehicles towing trailers. Accommodates any sized truck including Prime Movers with trailer. Ideal secure parking for Motor Sport enthusiast’, also perfect for Tradesman/ Construction vehicles, Drilling or Mining Trucks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alice Springs Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing