We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alice Springs Airport Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

It was good value but shower area wasn't partitioned in the toilet and the whole bathroom/toilet gets wet everytime you shower. It looked clean but there was a small cockroach in the toilet. It's only 10min drive to the airport so you don'this have to wake too early if you have an early flight.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grinnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We read the earlier poor reviews about this motel and were a little concerned about our 4 night stay here from 21st June 2012. However on arrival we found that there were new managers Kathy & John Read, who could not have been better hosts. We booked a premium room (which we'd recommend for lots of room) and found out that this was the hotel that Charles & Diana stayed in during their visit to Australia in 1983! (check out the official plaques on their rooms). Kathy & John did all they could to make out visit exceptional and we could not ask for more - any request for extra milk, supplies in our room was met without question and nothing was too much trouble for them. The poor reviews dated back to previous managers and had nothing to do with the current improved management. There are NO rats in the walls as they brick built and NO bugs anywhere because the rooms are clean and serviced daily. You expect some ants etc in the heat but nothing like the "beetles in my bed" comment. We were so happy with the accommodation and good value that we actually came back to the motel for another 2 nights stay after our tour of central Australia before moving onto Darwin. We'd recommend this motel wholeheartedly to couples and families alike.

Room Tip: The motel is 2.5kms from the cbd and about a half hour walk so a car is recommended, or a taxi ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were looking for somewhere cheap to stay before a morning flight. We had spent a week traveling around and were looking forward to a good night’s rest in a proper bedroom. We arrived to be told they had no water as something in the swimming pool was broken and it kept overflowing so they had to turn he water off – there had been a lot of rain that day so that could have possibly had something to do with it too. Anyway the staff were really friendly and the water was back on by the evening. Our room was alright. It had everything we needed but the glass door didn’t seem very safe and the bathroom stank… again this could have had something to do with the water being off, but it didn’t get much better as the night went on. The location is no really at the ‘airport’ but it is on the correct side of town and they offer transfers at the fraction of the cost a taxi or even the normal airport bus would be, it takes a good 15 minutes to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I was sent by my company to a one week conference in Alice, I was able to stay at any hotel I wanted and I couldn't wait to get back to this cosy, sweet, clean and lovely motel. Steve and Karen are absolute stars and well wasted in this back water place, but they seem to love their work, and work they do, guest relations, concierge and keeping the marvelous peace with the lovely central water feature a great place to sit and congregate and have a relaxing drink.
The pool is great after a long day in a conference and handy to all the rooms. I love this place and I can't exactly say why, I think it really does come down to the warm, cosy and remarkable attention of the managers. THANKYOU guys for another great week.

Room Tip: Ground floor in the the centre near the fountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Extremely welcoming, relaxed environment, child friendly...it's def one of the best places we've stayed and to top it off it's affordable!
We will be staying with Steve and Karen again!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrinnerZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Myself and 3 of my childrean visited Alice Springs for the very first time and were totally impressed with the amazing services provided by Karen and Steve. Not only was our accomodation comfortable and very affordable, but it was fun. The staff were so friendly and did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The pool was a huge hit with the kids and the BBQ area was a delight in the warm evenings. Highly Reccomend :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The worst place I have ever stayed. For one thing, one of the beds was full of dead beetles. We lifted off the top cover and there where over a dozen dead beetles there. Yes, it is Australua and we have lots of bugs but a hotel should ensure they are not in the bed.
I always take my shoes off when walking inside and in doing so here I found out how filthy the floor was. It obviously hadn't been swept or mopped in a very long time. I had dirt and hair on the bottom of my feet just from walking to one end of the room to the other.
The tub was stained with black something all over it.
The only time someone was in the front office was when we checked in. The manager certainly wasn't keeping the office hours that where posted on the door. When we left there was a couple who had been waiting at reception for their scheduled ride to the airport which the manager arranged. They had been waiting for 20 minutes but the office was closed as usual and there was no sign of their ride so we gave them a lift to the airport.
I din'g understand the positive reviews. We must have had the worst room in the place and the dirtiest.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cultdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,026 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Airport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Airport Motel

Address: The Gap Motel 355 115 Gap Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Alice Springs Airport Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes drive from the airport at the southern entrance to Alice Springs. The motel has views of the stunning MacDonnell Ranges and is a short 5 minute drive to the town centre. We are situated in a quiet location and would be the perfect stopover before & after heading to Uluru. The Alice Springs Airport Motel has 45 rooms and enjoys a 3 star rating. Ideal budget conscious Motel, rooms are spacious and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms; whisper quiet split system air conditioners, Austar Satellite TV, DVD Players. Flat screen TV’s. The rooms also have tea and coffee making facilities, microwaves, with hair dryers and irons in Premium Rooms. The motel has a fenced in ground pool with an adjoining free guest BBQ area. Other facilities include Free Wireless Internet for all rooms and a guest laundry. Great budget motel ideally suited to Tradesman & Contractors. With guest’s safety in mind, we have a secure, sealed and well lit, off street car park with automatic gates at the entrances and exits, after hour’s keypad entry for additional security. Drive in and drive out bays for trucks or vehicles towing trailers. Accommodates any sized truck including Prime Movers with trailer. Ideal secure parking for Motor Sport enthusiast’, also perfect for Tradesman/ Construction vehicles, Drilling or Mining Trucks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alice Springs Airport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing