We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our visit”

Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
Ranked #17 of 92 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: US$7 - US$37
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Ate at the Red Ochre Grill while in Alice for work and staying at the Aurora Hotel. Nice easy walk down from our room to dinner with a friend. I tried the corned beef which was good and my fellow diner tried the Pork belly which was excellent. Restaurant was busy but we were give a choice of tables when we visited without a reservation. Service was good. We were too full to try the desserts but they looked interesting, so will try another night. A couple of good glass of wine complimented a good meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    352
    154
    94
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed to say least”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Was looking forward to tasting some Australian delicacy with interstate friend who we were taking out as a thank you was left disappointed overall by our experience live bug in entree. Took over 5 mins to attract attention of waitress to have meal removed. My view of the bar was not enjoyed by staring at a mountain of used dirty glasses awaiting to be cleaned for the entire duration off evening. Everything I touched was sticky including menu. Over priced chefs salad drowned in heavy mayonnaise and ham was something out of a packet you could purchase better at local store. Plus they did deduct a meal ofF our bill and waitress was nice. Will not return and certainly not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Cit2getha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“twice”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Come to dinner twice in 3 days is place is pretty good especially being In the middle of the desert very nice

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A good restaurant with a good selection of food and wine topped off with friendly and efficient staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaikohe, New Zealand
1 review
“Expired And Rotten Food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visit Alice Springs in July 2014 and had dinner at the Red Ochre Restaurant, Alice Springs which was great and the waitress was extremely happy and helpful HOWEVER when we went for breakfast the next morning; The fruit was old, pineapple past it due by date and the watermelon was off, the bread felt as though it was a week old and there were two cockroaches around the toaster !!! I squashed the roaches and left under a plate then told the waitress (to a reply was "is that all")....
I approached the waitress and asked for fresh fruit, she went away for a bit and came back with a male from the kitchen, who took the top two bits of melon and pineapple off the serving plate and left the rest of the rotten fruit there. I decided not to have any breakfast at the Red Ochre and to grab something up the road.........
Because our accommodation included breakfast, we returned to the Red Ochre the next morning as well to see if anything had changed, but NO, it looked like the same melon and Pineapple were still there !!! not good at all !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debzzzxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing