We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty bar and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty bar and restaurant”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

While the room was dated, it was adequate. However, the bar and restaurant were exceptionally dirty. Dust coating the window frames, unwiped tables and sticky menus. The sort of place where you recoil from thinking what the kitchens are like. We can understand that the outside cleanliness of the buildings is hard to maintain in this sort of environment, but there is no excuse for the internal condition of the public areas, where food and drink are served.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistersnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Reservations and Sales Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback in reference to the cleanliness of our facilities.

We have a new team now in place and please be assured that these matters have been addressed and rectified.

Regards,
Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    588
    394
    179
    92
See reviews for
375
844
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Dont be fooled by the Lovely reception at the Kings Canyon Resort
This is more in line with a Dirty Truck stop not a Resort, infact a truckie wouldn't eat here
DONT STOP go straight to Kings Creek Station Just perfect, clean and family owned
Kings Canyon corporate owned and no body gives a dam. Just ferral and the Camping grounds were worse the pool was unswimmable, the restaurant and the bar you would risk your life eating in it, just look at the floors and filth. should be shut down

Room Tip: Go to Kings Creek Station just perfect and warm and friendly you wont regret changing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Reservations and Sales Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your response and we sincerely apologise for your less than favourable experience at the Resort. Receiving guests’ feedback ensures that we can make the necessary changes within our business and that we constantly improve and provide the best possible hospitality and environment at all times. Be assured, we have addressed the issues that you have raised with our new management team to ensure improvements in these areas is immediate.

Regards,
Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

After staying at this 'Resort' not long after it opened i hoped that things might be similar...
Guess not. It's being run down, does not seem to get much if any maintenance which to me suggests a lack of staff.
After a day of +37c hiking in the canyon we check-in to discover the Air-con does not appear to be working, so we took the kid to the pool hoping the room might cool down slowly,wrong. By the way the resort pool did not look clean but then the grassed area around it was just dust. I understand water is a scarce resource here but they can leave the taps dripping everywhere for the weeds.. There was a lot of chat around the pool about the terrible state of the place so maybe the manager needs to get out and talk with the 'paying guests' whilst there are still some.
So after 2 hours & 3 attempts to address the Air-con issue we finally got given a small fan to use in a room where we cannot leave doors open because they either have no fly screen or are full of holes... We are told the resort is full cannot move you...funny how there are only a few cabins in use which suggests there is no working air-cons. We are offered a $50 resort credit which is useless and rather pathetic.
The National park is wonderful the Resort is not.
The backpacker's got better treatment and facilities than we did paying 5 times the rate.
Pathetic!

Room Tip: Take a tent or campervan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiker2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Reservations and Sales Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Resort and please accept our sincerest apologies for our product and service quality shortcomings. We have recently embedded a new management team at Kings Canyon Resort and the physical and service matters that you have raised have been immediately addressed by the team in order for us to improve – in all areas. We take great pride in our service and product delivery and to receive unfavourable comments such as this is very disappointing however we take these seriously and immediate improvements have been implemented.

Regards,
Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

If they got all the leaking plumbing fixed in the caravan park they might be able to grow some grass on the red dust.
They put the school groups right next to our van, which was very noisy. They must be able to organise this better if they are going to have so many school groups during the holidays - kids will be noisy but other guests have the right to a night's sleep.
Don't plan to buy food or drinks here - very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a site away from any school groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Reservations and Sales Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Campgrounds, it is very much appreciated and we strive to ensure that all groups enjoy a peaceful stay. Your comment regarding the groups is noted and in future we will manage the noise levels more appropriately especially at night.

I am pleased to advise that we are upgrading the irrigation system to establish more grassed areas for guests’ enjoyment.

In relation to our pricing, we are extremely conscious that guests go to much expense when travelling vast distances to remote environments and we attempt to keep our product pricing at an affordable level at all times but unfortunately we are too subject to high delivery transport costs.

Regards,
Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My family of 4 had a terrible stay here. I should have scrutinized the reviews. This place is run down and in dire need of management attention
Our room had no working aircon;- the hint was there by the fan already in the room. Yes we did notify the staff and received $100 credit, but when you are paying 4 star prices [we had come from staying at Sail's in the desert, Uluru), you do not expect backpacker quality. The room was baking hot, circa 37C, and we had to open the veranda doors overnight, which despite bug screens let in many small, jumping insects.
The pool was sized for a back yard, so filthy you could not see the bottom. There was no changing room there either. The main restaurant was closed.
The high point of our stay was leaving at 7 am, to visit King's canyon, after a very sleepless night (NB the canyon is awesome).
The next night, we stayed at Chiefley's hotel in Alice Springs. This is EXCELLENT and I recommend the KC resort management visit it to see what a well-run hotel is about.

Room Tip: ask if the a/c is working properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Reservations and Sales Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies, it is obvious that during your stay we did not do our jobs properly. Receiving guests’ observations and feedback is very important to us so that we can plan and take the necessary actions ensuring that we constantly improve and provide the best possible hospitality at all times. As a note, we are undertaking some important capital works programming to our rooms, campground and amenities, bar and restaurants in the low season that will see some significant improvements to rooms and facilities for guests to enjoy.

In addition, we now have a new Management team in place at Kings Canyon and improvements will be immediately evident.

Regards,
Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We understand about remote area pricing but the additional expense of the $50 resort credit was outrageous. Fleeced before we even checked in! Booked two double beds but found one double and one single. Toilet lid missing (unacceptable for a 'resort'), toilet roll dispenser empty, blood on towel!
Shower was great though. Both detergent dipensers in laundry empty - complimentary sachet from reception was appreciated.
Barramundi was tastless and salad boring - rabbit food - for $26 in the bistro.
Rim walk spectacular and the surrounding country is magnificent.
All staff were very friendly and helpful but management need to act on feedback. I read many reviews where people had the same experience re poor standard of accommodation and quality of food. Lift your standards - it's way overdue.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zanji2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Reservations and Sales Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I apologize in advance however the $50 credit is in fact a discount, I am more then happy to discuss this issue with you should you care to contact me directly.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that we did not meet you expectations in so many ways, this is simply not acceptable.

Regards,
Ross Greenaway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Spa room for about the same price as it would have cost for 2 nights in a 5 star prime city property. Check in was OK and the staff friendly. The room was about 3 star and had two small double beds...Can't understand why you wouldn't have a nice King size bed to go with the romance of the Spa? The room was clean but the whole block still had all of the used sheets and towels in laundry bags left outside the rooms until well after 5 o'clock . We felt there could have been more info at reception about the nearby Kings Canyon ( about 10k) as we were pretty much left to find our own way around.
I agree with other contributors, Australia is quickly pricing itself out of the Tourist market due to high accom charges.
Our package included breakfast. On both mornings the only thing that was hot were the eggs that were cooked to order. The bacon and tomato and mushroom were all cold. Sadly one of the young waiters asked me how breakfast was and he tried to defend by saying he had checked temperatures and all food was above 25c. That was about the same as the outside air temp at the time.
We did dine at the same spot each evening and the food was great.
We did enjoy the spa after completing the Canyon rim walk.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique J, Reservations and Sales Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Appreciate the time taken to give your comments and observation, thank you. As mentioned previously we are located in a remote and isolated area and operating such a large business in this area does present both logistical and cost challenges.

At all times we are endeavoring to keep our prices to minimum levels and represent the best possible value.

Great to hear that the spa was welcome afer the stunning rim walk and you enjoyed the Food.......

Regards,
Ross Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing