We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kings Canyon "Last Resort"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Kings Canyon "Last Resort"”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a dump!!! I can't believe this place describes itself as a 3 star resort. It is little more than run down, dilapidated school camp accommodation.
Upon entering our room we were overwhelmed with a horrible stench of what I thought at first was sewerage. I immediately rang to reception to ask to be changed to another room and was told that a "slight smell" is not unusual due to calcium and lime from bore water causing blockages in the drain and there were no other rooms available as they were booked out, even though we had driven past close to 100 rooms on our way to ours and did not see one other car in the car park. They sent house keeping over to address the problem, which involved pouring some drain-o into the bathroom floor drain, giving us a can of Glen 20, asking us to flush some water down the drain in a few minutes time and then in about an hour it should be ok. The house keeper then apologised, as the drains should be regularly unblocked and was unimpressed that management had not arranged for anyone to do this in her absence as she had just returned from holidays.
We did as asked, left all doors and windows open to air the room and went out for an hour or two as the room was uninhabitable. Upon return the smell was no better so I went to reception to insist that they find us another room. The day manager at first did not want to help, again stating bluntly that the smell is common in this region and that there were no other rooms available unless I wanted to pay an additional $70.00 to upgrade rooms with no guarantee that the room would be habitable. After arguing that this is unacceptable for a few minutes she begrudgingly offered to switch our room for another that was booked for that day that had not yet been checked into. Upon inspecting that room the smell was just as bad and decided that we might as well stick it out in the original room. After a second round of drain-o and a few hours later the smell had started to fade enough that we could actually enter the room without gagging.
To make matters worse we did some over priced laundry there and with no dryers on offer our only option was to hang clothes on the back deck to dry where right outside a bob cat was digging and covered our clothes in red dust.
I really can't think of any positives to mention about this place except that the sunset view of the canyon from the viewing platform was amazing. As there are not many options for accommodation in Kings Canyon and some people I met said that back packers where they were staying across the road was decent enough, I would probably suggest staying there as you would likely have a better experience for a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BIGbUrJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    573
    381
    174
    92
See reviews for
365
825
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this resort previously and wanted to take interstate friends there for the outback experience. We were upgraded to a spa room which was a lovely surprise. It is expensive, but I understand that this is due to the remote location, generating power, water etc. All staff are exceptional, very friendly, great customer service. Both dinner and breakfast were good. 3 of us took the helicopter flight & thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozmatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff D, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Ozmatho, I am happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your review to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We took a two night stay in a spa room. It was modern clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was a bit run down being built with bessa blocks.... but the food and service were really good. The steaks are so big they barely fit on the plate. My special thanks to the bar manager Brenna who has a smile as big as Kings Canyon. And not forgetting Leigh from Dundee.. A great welcome makes a stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff D, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi Jonathan, Thank-you for your kind words and I will make sure I pass on your complements to Brenna and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

It's an average resort with average everything (including service) and rather outdated facilities. To top it off, was charged $280 for a one night stay in an AVERAGE room, which I think is utterly ridiculous and almost disgusting!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Keekstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff D, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank-you for your review.
I am disappointed to hear that you felt that your experience here was average and overpriced. I can assure you that our running costs with generator power supply, a local sewerage treatment plant and other expenses associated with our remoteness like housing staff, transport and getting contractor here means the resort is very expensive to operate compared to a city property and your rate was fair value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kings Canyon hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our room was clean and spacious and served its purpose, especially knowing that it's in the middle of nowhere! Compared to the Uluru-area it's better value for money. There's much more sense of isolation which makes it a more unique experience. Unfortunately we only could experience the surroundings for one night. There's a good store and a gas station. The restaurant is quite simple, but OK.WiFi only works in the restaurant area. When arriving we were positively surprised with a €50 voucher for the restaurant. We used that in the restaurant, but at the check-out the cost appeared on the bill which I only found our after asking for the bill details. It took endless discussions and a 'not amused' lady at the reception for getting this money back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff D, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank-you for your response.
I am happy to hear you found your room clean and spacious, however I do apologise for the confusion at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This resort has an absolute perfect location for a short stay.

It is not the cheapest but you get the full outdoor experience. Rooms have a great view on nature and a short drive brings you immediately at some hiking paths throughout Kings Canyon.

We had a twin bedroom which was obviously spacious for 2 persons. Both bed- as bathroom where perfectly clean. The staff was friendly and the food at the restaurant was nice. Expensive, but nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofieVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff D, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank-you for your kind review.
I am happy to see that you found the staff friendly, the resort clean and the food nice. These are the standards the staff have worked hard on over the past few months to ensure our guests have an enjoyable outback experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It's the only place around if you are visiting Kings Canyon so they have a captive audience.. The hotel is fine, nothing too special... But the shower curtain had mildew on the inside and another substance that I didn't want to look at too closely.
The hotel has a crazy check out time of 10:00am... Now if you want to do the canyon rim walk ( who doesn't? ) .. It takes 3-4 hours.. You start at first light if your sensible to avoid the heat of the day.. You don't start at night as it's is just not safe... So you start before 7:00am and don't finish till 11:00am which is after the check out time... You haven't had breakfast, your hot and sweaty so want a shower... So why the check out time after you can arrive back after the walk??... Plain daft... Not helpful... Not customer focused.
Would I come back??.. No... I think it rather expensive for what is on offer... The staff were very friendly and helpful though.. They are the real stars around here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff D, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank-you for your review Malcolm C.
I apologise for the mildew on the shower curtain, I have spoken with housekeeping and they are paying more attention to them, thank-you for bringing this to my attention.
10am check-out time is standard across the industry, this allows time for us to clean the rooms for the arrivals in the afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Property: Kings Canyon Resort
Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing