We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay in the outback.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A bit of a pleasant surprise. We enjoyed our stay and were very happy with the service. In particular we enjoyed the BBQ dinner where they had live music of high standard, a top quality New York Rib Eye and a good quality salad selection which was a first on this trip. The room was basic but clean & comfortable.

Room Tip: No special tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

OK, so Kings Canyon is fairly remote and the one and only resort has a monopoly on accommodation but that doesn't mean they shouldn't make an effort. At ~$150/night we got a room resembling a large prison cell; blockwork walls, concrete floor, no bathroom (not even a hand basin). Room and bedding was old and tired (the bed was reasonably comfortable), the walls were in need of a coat of paint and the lighting was inadequate. The shared communal toilet and shower facilities were just OK and the shared kitchen was below average. There is no mobile reception in the area and wireless can be purchased for $10/hour (dreadfully slow!!).Thankfully Kings Canyon is a treasure and was well worth the three nights we stayed at the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathcliffe1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Kings Canyon itself is an absolute must do 'add on' to an Uluru experience - and Kings Canyon Resort is pretty much the only place to stay - so didn't expect much. What we found exceeded expectations. Not 5 star luxury, but really comfortable accommodation, good service, excellent food (to our surprise) and the Rim Walk fantastic!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GailBBellevueHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Whats not to like????? It really is a great little set up to see Kings Canyon. Make sure you get a Spa room they are really nice. Beautiful energy in the rooms, having a bath overlooking nature, with really high pitched ceilings. Good breakfast, great outback BBQ with fantastic music whilst you eat. The major walks are just down the road from the resort.

Room Tip: Get a spa room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we drove from Alice Springs to Kings Canyon resort , easy 5 hour drive on great sealed road ,

Very surprised it was better then we expected , we stayed in near new spacious villa style accommodation as good as you can find anywhere .All very comfortable .Big bathroom with bath , high ceilings , air-conditioned .

Good restaurant and Aussie style bistro with live entertainment ..food was good .Service great ,staff we encountered very helpful and all seemed to enjoy the work . Nice feeling when you on holidays. Few minutes drive to canyon , amazing . we recommend at least a couple of days here to enjoy the scenery .For where it is, what it offers and how comfortable it is we highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the villas behind the reception with views over the landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jvjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is in a pretty good location however the rooms need to be updated. They are pretty good for a hotel that is in the middle of the outback but still need some work done to them to entice travelers to come back and spend more money. My only issue with this property was the value that we got for our dollar. We spent almost $300 a night and the room was not up to standards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Driving into the area which was around 170k from the turn off I was getting mixed ideas about where I was going and if it was going to be worthwhile. WOW....what a surprise. This place is like no other, its in the middle of nowhere but the atmosphere around the resort is the best out of any place we stayed on this trip.

We stayed in a deluxe spa room which was very roomy.....massive wow factor when you walk into the room for the 1st time. Nice and clean, room was made up nicely each day. The shower although not a modern design, was the best shower I think I have ever been in anywhere!!! Not much TV reception which even getting TV in a place like this a plus. We did not use the spa unfortunately as there is no shade to block off window and my wife saw some young kids perving over the rocks behind the room (looking straight into spa) so we get that a miss. The room is just slightly showing its age a bit but but that is not an issue whatsoever.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special, considering the location, it was expected and definitely not a negative. Just dont expect a massive buffet like you would in a city hotel. Food is reasonably priced considering the location.

The atmosphere at the bar was great and most guests were open and easy to strike up a conversation with which adds to the appeal.

This resort and the larger area of Kings Canyon was probably the highlight of the trip. The staff were all fantastic from the reception, to the restaurant and even the chef jumped in for a laugh when I was having a joke with the waitress. All adds to a wonderful stay and a MUST DO if you are planning a trip. Thanks to the resort for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hydro_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range: £77 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing