We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is just this resort, so...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Canyon Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This is the problem!! There is only this resort, so you haven't choice,
They maybe can do something better, but the room just for a night is good.
Not dirty, but no clean; not fantastic, but not disgusting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
There are newer reviews for Kings Canyon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

Lets face it. Its in the middle of know where, so they are going to charge like wounded Bulls. And they did, but MOST of it was well worth it. We stayed in a SPA DELUXE room, and it was AWESOME. Very modern, Spacious, Beds were comfy, The positioning of the Spa in the Window overlooking small rock walls and under the moon and stars was very relaxing & private. Well worth what we paid. The convenience of Room Charge was very handy. You could room charge anything in the resort including petrol. Only a very short Drive to the Kings Canyon Rim Walk, which is a MUST FOR EVERYONE. There was a couple of Dining Options in the resort. Carmichaels Restaurant was semi fine dining restaurant and the food was amazing. It was Frustrating that you had to purchase meal packages instead of just one dish - MAIN/DESSERT or ENTRE/MAIN. You could also dine in the mainstream bistro. Didn't do this, but you did have the option of TakeAway from the Bistro so you can enjoy the meal in your room, For just $1.00 per meal. They charge you $1.00 for yourself to walk your food back to your room. We DID do this. Well the Food was Terrible. They obviously think that no effort should be put into the food that is takeaway. My Salt & Pepper Squid and Chips were thrown into a Pizza Box with a rotten Salad to accompany it. Wasn't Happy. I made a complaint and requested a response. No one has bothered to reply. After spending in excess of $1000 in this resort over a 2 Night Stay, I would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPCRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed in a deluxe spa room at the Kings Canyon Resort for 2 nights. The room was huge, with a king size bed, beautiful bathroom and the most amazing large round spa with a full size picture window looking out on to the escarpment. Breathtakingly beautiful. Highly recommend staying at KCR and spending the extra money on the spa room, it's just sensational. Rooms are only about 10 years old, but look brand new. A fabulous way to relax after climbing Kings Canyon and walking the rim. Of our 10 nights away, this accommodation was the highlight. Will definately return. Check out KCR's website, as we got 2 nights for the price of one !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Pan and the chefs at the Under a Desert Moon dinner provided us with the highlight of our trip to the Northern Territory. The amazing food and wine was only surpassed by the incredibly atmosphere that we enjoyed. I would HIGHLY recommend this dining experience to anyone visiting Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed two nights in Yulara and two nights in Kings Canyon. We realised we would have been better off with three nights in Yulara and only one here. The room was very basic and the lights even dimmer than those at Desert Gardens. One restaurant was closed so we ate both nights at the Bush BBQ restaurant complete with a very audience-interactive bush band. The BBQ steak, barramundi etc was actually good, served with potatoes and a large, very fresh salad. The band created a great atmosphere (we'd hate it in Sydney, but got into the spirit of it along with all the tourists).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

If you want to visit Kings Canyon you have to stay here. Kings Canyon is a wonderful place but the resort is run down and has very poor dining facilities. Rooms weren't up to much. Still is wasn't too expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

A little expensive but it is in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed our time here. Check in was easy, friendly staff. Our room was nice and clean with a lovely view. the restaurants are expensive but fun with live entertainment. 'The Roadies" do a great entertaining job and were especially nice to our little girl. We asked one of the staff about the kings canyon rim walk and they spent a lot of time talking to us about it. Overall a pleasant experience and I'd happily go back to this resort. The pool was great too. If you plan on doing the walk - start early but don't miss it. Even our 8 year old loved it. It is sensational.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range: £77 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing