We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SkyShip Uluru - CLOSED
Review Highlights
A Mini Cyclone Will Do It !

Unfortunately a mini cyclone ripped through Yulara the week before we hit Town. This attraction had... read more

Reviewed 3 December 2018
Skeney57
,
Sydney, Australia
Will it ever fly again?

This short lived attraction (1 month last year) was a big disappointment for those wanting a... read more

Reviewed 12 February 2019
Chris T
,
Alice Springs, Australia
Read all 5 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
2
0
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
0
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 February 2019

This short lived attraction (1 month last year) was a big disappointment for those wanting a different way of seeing Uluru (albeit from a very long way away!) Most of their troubles have been bad luck with their business plan being based on being able to carry 30 passengers at a time. Unfortunately once it got to Australia CASA (Australia's aviation regulator) cut those numbers dramatically. The nail in the coffin, perhaps, came in 2018 when a storm destroyed the whole balloon envelope while it was tethered. The CASA investigation will determine whether this was caused by lightning (according to witnesses) or high winds (according to the Sydney-based owners.) Whichever, it has a long hard road back to convincing customers that it is worth the ride.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2018

Unfortunately a mini cyclone ripped through Yulara the week before we hit Town. This attraction had only been operating for a short time to rave reviews and a few negative ones but was basically completely destroyed ! At the time of our visit it was unsure if they would re-open ?

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Our bus driver told us about the skyship as we were driving in from the airport, and we stopped by the town center tourism office to book a sunset flight.
We were the only two people on board the balloon (besides the operator) which could have held around 8-12 people (depending on weight,) and ascends 150 meters in the air held in place by a thick cable. The views were incredible, its silent and peaceful and you get an unobstructed full 360 of the landscape as the colors change Uluru and the other massive monuments all around.
This is still a new attraction, but I would recommend this to everyone.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank JDole84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

My husband & I highly recommend this unique attraction! We booked the sunset flight, and we were the only ones on it — just us and the guide that goes up to operate the balloon. The views were spectacular. We got to experience a 360 degree sunset. The sky was magnificent — bold shades of red and orange. We were able to get a bird’s eye view of Yulara, Uluru & Kata Tjuta. Photos & memories to last a lifetime!

The balloon has only been open for about 3 weeks, so I imagine that it will get much more crowded once the word gets out. The price is relatively steep, but worth the money in our opinion. We felt very safe; the operation is well run and the staff is friendly & helpful.

It’s the only place in the area to get those views without booking a flight or helicopter. I believe you can book the experience for any time of day, though we thought the sunset was the perfect time. Our time up in the balloon was about an hour.

Thanks to the SkyShip team for a very memorable evening!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank syd_bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews