We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but no capacity to deal with volumne.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arnguli Grill

Arnguli Grill
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Yulara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$62
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Arnguli is the local Indigenous name for the bush plum. The plum flourishes even in the driest areas. Its importance in desert life is immortalised in dreaming stories and artwork.A gem of Australia’s rugged heart, the bush plum is a fitting name for a restaurant that celebrates its stunning surroundings. Executive Chef Kellie Quazi selects and transforms the finest produce from around Australia into a modern culinary experience. Quality products from every corner of the country are enlivened by local Indigenous flora, spices, grains and seeds
Brisbane
Level Contributor
232 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great food but no capacity to deal with volumne.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The food was surprisingly good. If you were an American that was comparing notes to what you could eat here and what you got dished up at the "restaurant" at The Grand Canyon you would have done hand stands. (Note the food at the "restaurant" at Grand Canyon March 18 2006 was possibly the second worst meal of my entire life - oh dear it was a tv meal slapped up and microwaved )

I was irritated that did not seem to cope with "numbers". The second night when we tried to get in we got told we weren't going to get a look in until 8pm! because there were 2 tour groups. Uhmmm Hello of course there is going to be tour groups its Uluru!!!!

We were asked if we were residents. We were staying there so we said yes, only to find out they meant someone who lived at the resort.

This made a difference to getting in. Who knew? We got in a bit earlier once that was sorted out.

We did have a long wait at the resturant which was not an issue for me but but some grumply middle agers just waltzed out after a period of time. God knows where they got their dinner at that time?

The third night well we were a party of 14. We had an early seating for an elderly parent of a friend who never has dinner past 5:30pm (the restaurant isn't open then) - well dinner was still going around 8:30pm when I gave up on ordering desert. Also we had to have a reduced menu .. Michael the waiter/ manager did offer to sneak in something off the real menu but we did not want to be a bother.

Additional staff would pay for themselves with no walk outs, and more alcohol sales. Seriously guys - you need to work on this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonjaneBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    169
    72
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine dining?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had dinner at Arnguli Grill. Service was very good. I ordered the Wagyu beef medium rare but ended up getting it closer to medium. Would have liked to have tried another meal there to see if it could have been done better.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kinesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
161 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice meat, a bit pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a great dinner at Arnuguli. The menu is quiet pricy, especially if you go for there specialities (delicious meat), about 45-55$ per main, including (small) side and sauce. They offer the possibility to match the main with the wine of your choice - they also have high quality wines.

The service was lovely and efficient, we really appreciate.
The atmosphere of the restaurant is quiet cosy and romantic. The day before, we went to sounds of silence for 195$/head: I would definitively go 3 times in Arnguli than 1 time in sounds of silence !

It is better to book before you go, and we did not try deserts are we were more than full ! (unfortunately, because they looked good)

Thanks for this lovely evening !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieLND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The price was okay, food good, service good, need to book, transport provided, had a good night, definitely go back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Sue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had dinner twice at the Arnguli Grill during our stay at Uluru. The food was lovely and the staff very friendly. None of the restaurants were cheap at the resort but the quality of the food (especially the seafood), the staff and atmosphere made this restaurant the best value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobR5319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arnguli Grill also viewed

 
Yulara, Red Centre
 

Been to Arnguli Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing